Blogger Beware!!


Do you post pictures on your blog or website? If so, beware. Many photos you see floating around out there in cyberspace (even ones on “free” sites) are, in fact, copyrighted. Three years ago I posted a picture of a sunset on a friend’s website. I don’t even remember where I got the picture but am pretty sure it was off one of those “free” photo sites. Last week I received a letter from this large stock photo company saying they managed the copyright to the picture and dumped an enormous amount in “damages” on me. They threatened that if I didn’t pay the damages (which were in the thousands of dollars) they would sue me. Thinking this was some sort of scam, I did some research and found out that not only were they for real, this kind of thing is happening more and more. My wife called a lawyer and he basically said we had two options, try to call the company’s bluff or see if we can get the damages lowered on account of my ignorance. I explained my side of the story to the company, told them I had no idea the picture was copyrighted or that they managed the copyright. I pleaded ignorance and they did lower the damages considerably but it is still a big hit. My friend also received the same letter and did her part in pleading as well.

Apparently, these stock photo companies hire people to scour the internet looking for their images being used without license.

I write this as a heads-up and warning. I know it is common practice to see a picture you like and right click, “Save Picture As . . .” Don’t do it. You never know when someone is going to find that picture on your site and come after you. Please pass this information along to others.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 20, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Blogger Beware!!.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

