Rollercoaster Ride to Publication


Okay, so I was supposed to hear something from Realms about my manuscript on June 11. It was to be the final meeting to approve the manuscript and work up a contract. I waited and waited, chewed my fingernails to nubs, paced a hole in our living room rug, and when June 11 finally came, the big day, guess what happened? Nothing. June 12. Nothing. June 13. Nothing. Finally, on the 14th I got an email from my agent forwarding an email from the editor at Realms. Everything went well at the meeting but they have to “rework the numbers” and I should hear something in 1-2 weeks.

I can do 1-2 weeks. No big deal. Things sounded positive. One week came and went and at the close of week two we get an email from the editor saying she is leaving the company and my manuscript is being passed along to another editor.

Not good.

Every manuscript needs a champion within the publishing house and this editor was my champion. Enter depression, discouragement, and doubt–the 3 D’s. I was sure things had gone sour, that I had lost momentum and was doomed to failure. My trust in God, that He was in control, wavered (how fickle I am).

My agent said he would seek out the Strang/Realms table at ICRS and speak to the new editor, see where the manuscript stood. Last week I got an email from my agent saying he spoke with the new editor’s boss and she assured him my manuscript was up for final approval at the next Pub. Board meeting in mid-August and that things still looked very positive.

So now I’m back to waiting . . . and trusting.

Lessons to be learned:
1) Things happen at a snail’s pace in the publishing world (this has been going on for nearly 4 months). There’s nothing we can do about but accept it. It is what it is.
2) Things at publishing houses can change on a dime. It’s not uncommon for editors to change mid-stream during the review process.
3) While you wait, keep writing. While waiting all this time, I’ve been working on another manuscript and nearly have it complete!
4) Don’t let doubt get a foothold. Trust God no matter what happens. I keep telling myself that I know God wants me writing. If things don’t work out with Realms, they’ll work out with someone else. I have to believe that.
5) Even a little bit of patience keeps you sane.

Until next time . . .

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 14, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Rollercoaster Ride to Publication.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

