My Take on Violence in Fiction


Last week Brandylin Collins interviewed Andy Meisenheimer, acquisitions editor over at Zondervan (See part 2 of the interview here). In one question, Brandylin asked Andy what his biggest frustration with the Christian industry was. This was part of Andy’s answer:

“I’m constantly surprised at how accepting we are of unnecessary violence in Christian fiction. Of the big three, violence, sex, and language, I’m pretty sure we should be least tolerant of violence, in books and in our own lives. In terms of realism, it’s much more realistic to me to have characters let loose with a damn or kickass or my God or a double entendre than have a villain shoot someone in the leg just for fun because he’s the bad guy. Not only is it a double standard, but it’s bad writing. How do I change this? Require my authors to write well. Make sure that everything in the book, from violence to shoestrings, serves the story.”

Ever since, his answer has been bugging the heck out of me, making me think about how I create evil characters, those bad guys who do violent things, and I think I understand what Andy is talking about. Is he saying that violence is unnecessary and bad writing? I don’t think so. What he’s saying is that unnecessary violence that doesn’t serve the story is bad writing. So is unnecessary kissing, unnecessary dialogue, unnecessary combing of the hands through the hair. If what we write our characters doing does not serve the story, it’s bad writing folks.

So what about having bad characters do really bad things? In real life there are bad guys who are calculating and passive, they’re evil to the core but are more subtle about acting on that evil, then there are the crazies out there, bad to the bone and crazy enough to act on it, sometimes in disgusting, violent ways. Both kinds of people exist so shouldn’t we write about both kinds?

Yes. The answer is to fully develop their characters, though. I think what Andy is getting at is having a bad guy do something really bad (like shoot someone in the leg just for the fun of it) as a means of showing how bad he is. Actions should be outcroppings of character and character needs to be developed. If you are making your character act bad to show how bad he/she is and that’s all the reader is getting, then you’re cheating the reader. All characters need to be developed; the reader needs to know why the bad guy is so bad.

I don’t think violence is unnecessary or bad writing, it’s real, we live with it every day. Open your newspaper or watch the news; violence is all around us. Vile, angry, evil violence. We should include it in our stories, but we need to make sure we aren’t making it some novelty to shock the reader or a short cut to taking the time to develop the character whose acting so vile.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 26, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve been thinking about the interview also since it posted. I like you thoughts, though what I’ve been disturbed by lately (and I’m a suspense/mystery writer) is the amount of horrific things done to Christian characters. I know it happens in real life, but in the last couple of books I’ve read, Christians have been brutally murdered even while calling out to God. I realize the reality in these scenarios, still it rubs me wrong when I read it. Maybe it goes back to Andy’s comment. Maybe it’s the unnecessary violence in these murders. I’ll have to chew on that a while.BTW, welcome to Writer…Interrupted!

    Like

  2. That’s a good point, Gina, and it brings up the subject of where to draw the line with violence. How much is too much? What is too gratuitous? What is appropriate and what is inappropriate? All questions we as writers need to wrestle with. Regardless, we’re doomed to offend some no matter where we land on the issue.Maybe we’ll deal with this a little more in days to come.Mike

    Like

  3. That’s the kind of thinking every writer should do. Is this absolutely necessary?

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

