Monday’s Musing–Curious Little Gifts


When my girls were younger they loved giving me gifts, curious as they may have been. Laura, the oldest, would draw me a horse or a house or a landscape of rolling hills, inviting flowers, and a smiling sun, carefully place it in a gift bag, and offer it to me, love pouring out of her bright, blue eyes. Abbie would color a picture, carefully fold it into the smallest square she could, wrap it in Disney Princess tape, and proudly present it to me. Caroline, our youngest, would scribble on anything she could get her hands on and, smiling broadly, offer me her gift as if it were a bottle of frankincense.

Oh, their gifts weren’t much. Nothing really useful. Just primitive drawings and scribbles on scraps of paper. But I couldn’t bring myself to throw them away. You know why? Because however insignificant or seemingly useless those curious little gifts were, I knew Laura and Abbie and Caroline had selflessly given me a gift that represented the very best they could do. Sure, they were never Monet or DaVinci, but they’re my girls and I’d rather have an original Abigail than an original Monet any day.

This reminds me of the little drummer boy. You know the Christmas song. This poor little boy was going to see the newborn King, but he didn’t have any gift to bring. All he had was his little beat-up drum. But he could play that drum. Oh, could he play. He gave Jesus the one talent he had, and as he states in his own words, “I played my drum for him, I played my best for him.” And do you know what the next line is? “Then he [Jesus] smiled at me, me and my drum!”

You see, not everyone is blessed with talent overflowing. Not everyone is going to attain Master Craftsman status. But we can all do something, even if it seems useless or insignificant. Jesus gladly accepts more than just gold, frankincense, and myrrh—he also accepts simple songs played on little beat-up drums. All Jesus asks is that we do our best with the talents and abilities he’s given us and selflessly offer them to him.

And just like my girls’ little drawings and scribbles brought such joy to my heart, our curious little gifts will put a smile on the face of our Savior.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 3, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Monday’s Musing–Curious Little Gifts.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

