Stephen King on God’s Calling


For the next several days, when I’m not posting a book review or some other industry tid-bit, I’m going to be sharing some wisdom from Stephen King. I know, I know, I get it all the time: “You read that guy?” Yes, not profusely (like I read Dean Koontz) but I do read King to learn from him. The guy can write. And he can write about writing. His book On Writing is pig-stuffed full of advice, wisdom, and hard-learned common writing-sense. Worth any novelist’s time and money.

At one point in the book, King is talking about prolific writers and mentions the British mystery novelist, John Creasey, who turned out some 500 novels. In contrast, he mentions Harper Lee, who wrote one novel, the beloved To Kill a Mockingbird. He also mentions James Agee and Malcolm Lowry, who wrote under five apiece. With respect to such limited output, King writes, ” . . . I always wonder two things about these folks: how long did it take them to write the books they did write, and what did they do with the rest of their time? . . . I’m probably being snotty here, but I am also, believe me, honestly curious. If God gives you something you can do, why in God’s name wouldn’t you do it?”

Hmm. Good question. If you believe God gave you the passion and ability to write, why wouldn’t you do it? No matter how tedious the process may seem or how discouraging those rejection slips grow, keep at it. God gave you something to do . . . now go do it.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 11, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Michelle Pendergrass

    On Writing is at the top of my list. I just found a little gem–I was listening to the Bag of Bones audiobook and there’s a GREAT interview at the end. Took my by surprise.I’ve read nearly everything SK has put out (minus the Dark Tower series) and find articles, interviews, etc…where every I can and this one at the end of Bag of Bones was one of the best.I have an article he wrote concerning short stories that I need to blog about soon.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

