Notes from the Field–Content Edits


I’ll be slowing down the posts here for a few days while I work on the content edits I got back from my publisher. Waiting for these edits has been a harrowing time. Questions were abundant: How much are they going to want to change? What if, after going over the manuscript again, they decide I’m a no-talent hack and cancel the contract? What if they suggest changes that I don’t want to make?

But alas, the edits came back and they were actually rather minor. I worried for nothing. I need to add more time elements into the story so the reader feels grounded in an actual world where time ticks by. There’s a major event that happens at the beginning of the story but is never talked about by the townsfolk–that has to change. What part of major event don’t I understand? People are gonna talk. So I’ll make that change. And then there’s a couple handfuls of stand-alone issues to resolve. But overall, I’m thrilled with the outcome and anxious to get working.

Oh, I also got my first look at the cover. There’s a couple things I’m asking them to change. We’ll see how that goes. Maybe in a few days I’ll post the cover as it is now, comment on it, and then post the new one (if they make the changes) when it comes in.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 3, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. C.J. Darlington

    Would love to see that cover!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

