Book Cover for The Hunted


Here’s the final work-up of the cover of my debut novel, The Hunted (you can see the original work-up on my website . . . I haven’t changed it yet). Sorry, I don’t have a better quality graphic yet.

Here’s how it works: The contract states that the publisher (Strang/Realms) has the last say on the cover. So they sent it to me for comments. Honestly, at first I wasn’t thrilled. I was expecting something else, not sure what but . . . else. But the more I looked at it and imagined it on a shelf in a store, the more it grew on me. Except two things. One, they had my name as “Michael Dellosso,” which is fine (after all, that is my name) and I liked how it looked on the cover but everything I do online and my website has me as “Mike Dellosso.” So I asked them to change that. Two, I wasn’t sure how a CBA audience would respond to all the blood on the cover. So I asked them to tone down on the blood.

Well, I was one for two. They changed the name but said no-can-do to the blood part. The publisher is certain, after market research, that the cover will appeal to both CBA audiences and general audiences. And that’s what my agent said, that they were going after a more commercial look to appeal to the general Barnes & Noble book buyer. Here’s hoping they’re right.
About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 18, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ruth Axtell Morren

    HI Mike, Nice cover. I don’t see the blood but I think b/c it’s a small image of the book cover. Interesting how Strang wants to appeal to the general book market. I was at the ACFW in Dallas last fall and got that sense with some of the other CBA publishers. What do you think? Do you think there will be more crossover of ABA readers into the CBA market?Ruth

    Like

  2. Yeah, I think CBA publishers are realizing more and more that they have to be competitive in the ABA market (B&N, Borders, Wal-Mart, etc.) so they will start positioning their books to better compete in those markets. Obviously, covers play a big role in marketing. It will be interesting to see how this all plays out and the impact it has on CBA book sales.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

