Monday’s Musing–Holding Daddy’s Hand


A few years ago we took our girls to the county fair so they could experience the “kiddie rides.” One particular ride was especially fearsome—the Himalaya, a continuous circle of cars that race around and around while undulating like a boat riding the swells of a rough ocean, first forward, then backward. I remember riding this very ride when I was a kid and being victim to the centrifugal forces as they pressed me against my dad. Now I was the dad taking the brunt of the force as my daughter Laura was pressed against me. I could see the fear on her face as we raced around at breakneck speed so I reached over and gently took her hand in mine. A smile parted her lips, and she giggled and laughed for the remainder of the ride.

At times we feel like that child helplessly thrown about by the forces of turmoil and trials we face in our lives. No matter how hard we fight them, we just don’t possess the strength to prevail—and we become fearful. Helplessness is not a comforting feeling.

When we’re sitting by the bedside of a cancer-stricken loved one.

When the doctor grimly states, “It’s worse than we expected.”

When the voice on the other end of the phone says those words no parent wants to hear, “Your daughter’s been in an accident . . .”

We’re helpless. We’ve lost control and fear overcomes us.

It is at times like these we cry out “Daddy!” and our heavenly Father answers, “Fear not, for I am with you, be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10,13).

How comforting it is to know that we are never alone. When trials pull at us they only press us firmly against our Daddy’s side, and he takes our hand in His and lovingly reassures us that He is in control.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Monday’s Musing–Holding Daddy’s Hand.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

