Promoting/Marketing Woes (there’s never enough time)


With my book releasing in less than three months now, I’m feeling the crunch to get hopping on the promotional end of things. Where to start? Where to end? The promotional avenues and opportunities really are endless and it seems there’s so much to do I’ll never have the time for it.

And there’s the rub.

You see, I have a wife and three daughters, work a full-time job, a part-time job, am an elder at my church with all the responsibilities that go along with that, and (I can finally say) an author. Balancing time can be tricky. How much time do I spend on promoting my upcoming book and following books? Thus far, I’ve found myself cutting into my writing time to do promotional stuff. It just seems there’s so much to do. With my upcoming book, The Hunted, I took my time writing it, making sure it was exactly how I wanted it and well-crafted, but with the one I’m working on now I feel I’m rushing, just getting the story down on paper. Not good.

Then it hit me: The very best promotional thing I can do, the best marketing practice to pour my time into is simply to write a darn good book. Yeah, I know, I’m a little slow. I’ve read this little fact umpteen times from a variety of authors but it never really sank in. I kept telling myself I needed to do more promoting, more marketing. But the strength of any book is the story itself.

So from now on, sure I’m going to spend time on promotional stuff, every author needs to, but I’m also going to make sure I spend the time needed to craft a darn good story that readers will enjoy and want to tell their friends and family about. That’s good marketing.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 5, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Interesting blogs. I’ve read a few of your posts.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

