Some Random Thoughts on Having Cancer


I have a CAT scan this morning to determine if the cancer has metastisized. I think we’re all a little frightened our worst fears will materialize.

I always thought this kind of stuff happens to “somebody else.” Now I know what that “somebody else” feels like when your whole world revolves around the next doctor’s appointment.

I’ve often noticed that a person’s health seems to take a nosedive after the diagnosis of cancer is made. Now I know why. It’s not just the physical fatigue, but the emotional and mental blow. The enormity of it is quite jarring and it’s easy to give in to a defeatist attitude and just throw in the towel. The uncertainty, the tests, the results, the probing and prodding, the fears. I don’t want to be one of those people, though. I want to keep on exercising, keep on laughing, keep on loving. I know that above all this “cancer stuff” is my Heavenly Father, my Daddy, who loves me more than I could ever love anyone and cares for me and about me. He has a plan in all this; I know that. I trust Him with my life. I do. He saved it; He owns it; it’s His.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 21, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Grateful Gramma

    Mike, I just happened across your blog and read that you’ve been diagnosed with colon cancer. I am so sorry; I can’t imagine how difficult that news must have been to hear. I hope it will encourage you, even if just a little, to know that I have a friend who is a long-time survivor of colon cancer. I pray the same for you.Ginnie

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

