On Conquering Death and Being Angry at God


Yesterday we celebrated life. Because Jesus conquered death, we will too. O death, where is your sting? What a beautiful thought at this time during my life. As morbid as it may seem, I’ve been thinking about death lately. Honestly, I don’t think I’ll be facing death (at least not due to this cancer) for a long time, but being told you have cancer has a way of refocusing you and life and death are suddenly center stage. How have I lived? Have I made a difference? Am I making a difference? Or just existing, taking up space? How will I be remembered after I’m gone?

If things go south and this cancer is worse than originally thought, I’m not afraid to die. My greatest fear is for my daughters and wife. I’ll be in a much better place and more alive than I’ve ever been, but they’ll be here dealing with the aftermath and suffering and grief . . . and that tears me up. I don’t want my girls to grow up fatherless and my wife to be husbandless. That’s where I need to trust God to take care of them. (Yes, I’m feeling morbid this morning; a lot’s been on my mind . . . sorry).

Somebody asked me if I was angry at God because of this whole cancer thing. Why would I be angry at God? Through one man, sin entered the world. Man brought sin and suffering and pain and, yes, cancer into the world, not God. I’ve got my head on straight enough to understand that we live in a fallen, sin-cursed world and cancer is part of that world. Just because I’m a child of God doesn’t exempt me from the conditions and terms of this human experience.

So that’s some things I’m thinking about this morning as I await the results of my CAT scan. Our prayer at this point is that the cancer hasn’t metastisized and that when the surgeon does the ultrasound Thursday, he’ll find that the tumor has, in fact, shrunk and we can skip the radiation thing.

Life is hard; God is good.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 24, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on On Conquering Death and Being Angry at God.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

