Holding God’s Hand


Life is funny. Not always ha-ha funny, but odd funny. Just two weeks ago, I never would have thought, it never would have even entered my mind, that I’d be so giddy over the results of a CAT scan. The scan showed that there is no metastisis of the cancer in any other organs. Now, this doesn’t mean it isn’t in the lymph nodes; we won’t know that until after sugery when the removed nodes are tested. But it’s still a huge praise. Metastisis was something that was heavy on my mind and in my dreams (nightmares).

It’s funny (again, odd) how life changes and your focus changes with it. A few short weeks ago, my focus was on writing my next book, the storyline, the characters, the plot, the tension. I haven’t touched it in two weeks and probably won’t until after surgery. For now, this is my writing; this is my release. This is my life.

An observation. Jen and I are having a hard time focusing on the mundane things of life. Work. Laundry. Cleaning. Doing the dishes. Taking out the garbage. When something as big as a tumor is sitting center stage, everyday chores–the things we once thought were so urgent and needful–now seem unimportant. Again, a change in focus.

Isaiah 41:10 & 13 are some of the verses that are carrying me through this valley.

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

At times, I can feel God’s holy hand wrapping around mine (much in the same way I take my daughter’s tiny hand in mine when she’s afraid) and hear his gentle voice whisper in my ear, “Don’t be afraid, son, I’ll help you through this.”

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. C.J. Darlington

    What great news, Mike! I’m so happy to hear this. Celebrate the victories! God is good! Thanks for updating us.

    Like

  2. Merrie Destefano

    Mike,I haven’t met you, but I’ve been visiting your blog for awhile now. I just wanted to let you know that I am praying for you and your family.I have a couple of friends who recently survived cancer. One has been cancer free for five years and another for two years. It’s a difficult journey, but having the Lord at your side makes all the difference. Believe it or not, you are an encouragement to those of us who are praying for you.Many blessings,Merrie

    Like

  3. Celebrating with you! Have you been reading the responses to your prayer request at WI? Paul has a really encouraging one!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

