On Laxatives and Real Victory


Sometimes you just gotta run.

Okay, that’s my corny sense of humor. Last night I had to drink a bottle of magnesium citrate (yes, laxative) because this morning I have an appointment with the surgeon and he’s going to do a sigmoidoscopy to “get his eyes on the tumor.” One, cherry flavored magnesium citrate tastes like drinking concentrated Luden’s cherry cough drops. Nasty stuff that makes your tongue stick to the roof of your mouth and your gums pop out in goosebumps (if that’s possible). Two, magnesium citrate is some powerful stuff. Way powerful. Wow.

Enough of that, though. I think you get the picture. Since this whole thing with cancer has started I’ve lost seven pounds and am the lightest I’ve been since getting married ten years ago. I expect to lose a lot more after surgery and during chemo.

This morning we see the surgeon again, and I’m praying for an early surgery date. I just want this thing out of me and to get this over with. The sooner the better.

Here’s another passage that has been on my mind and in my heart as of late. Isaiah 43:1-3:

But now, this is what the Lord says–he who created you, O Jacob [Michael], he who formed you, O Israel [Michael]: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior . . .”

I know, some will say this applies to Israel, and they’re right, but did God create me? Yes. Did He form me? Absolutely. And did He redeem me? You betcha. So the same love and devotion and protection He showed Israel He shows to me, His beloved. And I can have confidence that during the darkest hours of this ordeal, which no doubt are yet to come, He will be with me and in His strength, and in His arms, under His protection, this trial will not overcome me. Now that’s victory!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 27, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Merrie Destefano

    Mike,I love that scripture! And yes, I think it applies to you. Today and always.Blessings and many prayers,Merrie

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

