Donut Desire


What’s on my mind this morning? Donuts. I love donuts.

I. Love. Donuts.

Clear enough? The cream-filled are the best, especially Dunkin’ Donuts’ powdered, chocolate cream ones. Mmmm. Unfortunately for my taste buds, since being diagnosed with colon cancer I’ve been on a health food kick. They don’t like me anymore.

But you are what you eat, right?

I never considered my eating habits poor. Jen always cooks healthy meals, has plenty of fruit and vegetables available for snacking, and doesn’t buy a lot of sugary sweets. My weakness, though, has always been sweet dough: cake, cookies, and . . . yes, donuts (things I can get at gas stations, Wal-Mart, grocery stores, and work . . . shhh). If I had a craving, I’d satisfy it. Stop at Rutter’s (a convenient store in south-central PA) and grab a donut or two. But it’s funny how it takes something like cancer to grab my attention.

Now, I’m a new man. I’m popping vitamins, cutting way back on sweets (I haven’t had a donut in weeks and it’s killing me!), drinking this “superfood” concoction that tastes like blended grass and has stuff like Jerusalem artichoke in it, and caressing my colon with lots of fiber and veges. I have to say, I don’t mind eating healthy, I like vegetables . . . but I still like donuts better.

This morning I’m craving a donut. I won’t eat one because we’re having company tonight and I know there will be dessert. But I want one.

Donuts. Mmmmm.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 5, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Donut Desire.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

