When it Rains it Pours


Yesterday didn’t get off to a good start.

For starters, I showed up for my 6:45 am ultrasound appointment fully expecting to be at work by 8:30 only to be asked, “And who will be driving you home?” Uh-oh. I wasn’t told I’d be sedated for the procedure. When the surgeon did a similar procedure last week I was awake and aware, walked in, walked out. “Our doctors like to use sedation,” I was told. “You’ll have to call someone to pick you up.” Great. A day of work missed for a lousy thirty-minute procedure. I wasn’t happy.

Meanwhile, at home, Jen was getting the girls up and ready for school. Abby would be staying home with an ear infection and would hopefully get her own doctor’s appointment. Caroline, our youngest, fell down the steps and suffered two loose front teeth and some bumps and bruises.

Not a good start to the day all around.

Lord, have mercy.

Now, for the ultrasound. It showed what I didn’t want it to show: that the tumor had grown into the wall of the colon with some tentacles protruding through the outer layer. The doctor classified it as a T3, which means it’s into the outer layer of the colon. T4 would mean it’s spread into the surrounding tissues, which it doesn’t look like it has, thankfully. We meet with the oncologist again on Friday, and I’m preparing myself for him to suggest we do the chemo/radiation first, then surgery. Not my first choice but we’ll do what needs to be done.

How do I feel? I feel like this tumor is having an attitude and, frankly, it’s getting on my nerves. It’s messing with me and my family and I’m getting sick of it. I’m ready to do whatever needs to be done to knock this sucker out. Listen to me, talking about it like it’s a person . . .

Lord, have mercy.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 8, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Merrie Destefano

    A friend of mine did chemo when she had breast cancer. She didn’t get many of the side effects that I’ve always associated with chemo. I’m pretty sure (I’m no doctor, now) that the treatments they are doing today, with chemo and radiation, are quite different from what I heard about 10 years ago. All this to say, Mike, I still think you have much to be hopeful for, even in the treatment. I have a feeling the doctors will be able to put together a plan for you that will target that “Monster on a Leash” and make it disappear. They’ve learned so much in the past 10 years. They have better medicines, surgery techniques, everything. My friend was even able to continue working while she did her chemo. In fact, her doctor encouraged it.She has a page at Caring Bridge, a site set up to support and connect loved ones during critical illnesses. You might want to check out her site:http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/erikakotiteMany blessings and continued prayer,Merrie

    Like

  2. Sounds a bit like my teen!:) I’m really blessed by your attitude and outlook during this crazy turbulent time, and how you’re dealing with life (’cause it doesn’t stop for cancer.)It’s not only a testimony to your faith, but also to those who are surrounding you!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

