A Sobering Ring


I’ve recently joined “The Cancer Ring.” It’s a group of bloggers writing about either their experience with cancer or the battle of a loved one with this feared disease. If you look to the right of this post, just under my picture and profile you’ll see the words The Cancer Ring. Click on the arrows or rand and browse a bit. You’ll discover the same thing I did: that this cancer thing is for real, it affects people’s lives, sometimes it kills, sometimes it inspires, it robs wives of their husbands, and husbands of their wives, it steals mommies and daddies from children.

But this cancer thing is not unbeatable. There are plenty of stories on the ring that have brought hope and encouragement. Some battles are harder than others, some are longer, but they are winnable.

And then there are the humbling stories, the sobering posts of battles that were valiantly fought but, in then end, bravely lost. This gets my attention. If you click on the words The Cancer Ring you’ll read a letter from a 25-year-old woman, Amanda, to her deceasesed husband, Eric, who died as a result of the side effects of the chemo he was receiving for his leukemia. It is heartbreaking, it is raw, it is thought-provoking. I’ll warn you, the language is not PG, but the emotion behind the words are worth a read. It reminds me, this is real stuff we’re dealing. Real life, real death, a real disease. Her letter reminds me of the void left, the hole in the heart that remains, when a husband, a daddy, is snatched from this world.

I don’t know if I’m being selfish or not, or maybe too dramatic (I’m human and capable of both), but my prayer has been, “Lord, allow whatever you want to happen to my body, but please spare my life.”

Today we meet with the oncologist at 3:15, the surgeon at 4:00. We’ll get our marching orders concerning whether we do surgery first or chemo/radiation first.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 11, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just like the Casting Crowns song says, “…Lord I will praise You in this storm…” We’ll be praying for you Brother!

    Like

  2. Mike,As I was thinking about you this evening, Isaiah 43: 1-3 came to mind:”But now, thus says the LORD, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. 3 For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior…”Your Brother From Another Mother,Brian D. aka BoSox71

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

