Here and There


I’m pondering the best way to handle this blog now. I have so much to say about my stay in the hospital and recovery from this surgery, but I’m not sure if I should tackle it chronologically, reflecting on one day at a time, or not. Right now, still under the effects of anesthesia, my mind is not working chronologically, it’s working like one of those lottery machines where the little balls are blown around in the plastic globe and one randomly pops up through the tube. So I think I’ll handle it that way–as thoughts arise I’ll write them down.

Forgive me if this seems like a bunch of random thoughts . . . that’s what it is. That’s who I am right now.

In pre-op, the anesthesiologist visited me to inform me of all the potential risks of “going under” including that most forboding of all, death. When he had finished and I had signed on the line by the little scratched X he asked me if I had any requests. I said, “Just make sure I stay asleep.” He assured me that was something he could do.

The next thing I remember is scooting myself (shoulders, hips, heels, etc.) from the operating gurney to the hospital bed. Jen says she was mortified they made me do it myself because I looked like they’d just dug me out of the morgue. I was gray, gaunt, and cold.

The only other thing I remember about Wednesday is the surgeon coming in my room and telling me the surgery went well. Oh yeah, and I remember later that night getting a roommate who snored like a dinosaur with sinus issues and had his TV on all night.

My worse experience in the hospital? The catheter. It didn’t work right. I hated it. I wanted it out. When it was finally removed, I celebrated and my mood immediately lightened. And as Forrest Gump said, “That’s all I have to say about that.”

Laying in that hospital bed, I honestly felt removed from everything, including God. Everyone has their own pit, their own “miry clay” that they’ve been stuck in. David had his, Jeremiah had his, Paul, Peter, and we all know Jesus had his. It’s when we feel like crying out, “my God, my God, why have you forsaken me.” When I was alone in that room, just me and my discomfort and worries I was crying that. But God is faithful, and He keeps His promises (I am with you always) and through His Word and various others (Jen being the most notable) He assured me that I was not alone.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 23, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Keep doing what you need to do! Jumbled thoughts and all. Believe it or not, they’re a blessing! An eye-opener. Keeping in theme with this blog!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

