An Exclusive Club


Only about 500,000 people in America (less than 1% of the population) can say they have an ostomy.

And I’m one of them.

It’s quite an exclusive club. There are ostomy nurses, manufacturers of ostomy supplies, catalogs, support groups . . . it’s a whole subculture. They (we . . . I have to remember that) have our own lingo, our own problems, our own understanding.

I’m gonna make up a bumper sticker: It’s an ostomy thing, you wouldn’t understand.

In the hospital I was greeted and instructed by an ostomy nurse. When I got home I was called by a case manager for my insurance company asking how the ostomy was going; that same day a visiting nurse came to help me with changing the ostomy appliance; the next day I was called by a representative from a manufacturer of ostomy supplies who then hooked me up with a sales rep from a well-known (among us ostomites) ostomy supply catalog. I set up an account. I’m to call either woman if I have any questions or need any help with my ostomy.

This group is tight.

Now I’m flipping through a catalog making a “wish list” of supplies with terms like 12″ drainable pouches, extended wear flat skin barriers (otherwise known as wafers), stoma powder, Karaya paste, and lubricating deodorant. Terms I never thought I’d be using, let alone even know what they mean. There are different kinds of pouches, different kinds of wafers, different kinds of everything. It’s like paging through an L.L. Bean catalog at Christmas time . . . except not.

It’s overwhelming, but I don’t feel alone. I have five different nurses/representatives/experienced ostomites that are just a phone call away waiting to help me.

I’m part of a unique community, one that sticks together because we share a common bond. We are ostomites.

It’s an ostomy thing, you wouldn’t understand. (I love that.)

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 26, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are still Mike Dellosso…and NOTHING can change that.I pray for you.

    Like

  2. Yep, I ditto what Cheri said:-) You’re still Mike Dellosso…the ostomy doesn’t change who you are. But I am so glad you have a big supportive healthcare team. A tough time for you, but you’re taking it one day at a time. Thanks for blogging about your experiences – it helps know better how to pray.Blessings!Vicki

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

