A Four-Letter Word


This cancer episode (Don’t you like how I threw that word in there? There is an ending!) is the biggest thing that ever happened to me. I suppose many people with cancer can say the same thing. And I’m also sure there are others who have had much bigger things happen . . . and survived. But for me, this is it, the Big Kahuna.

In the midst of all this stuff going on and life being turned upside down, my “normal” taking a major hit, and a certain uncertainty about the future (after all, there were cancer cells found in a lymph node which means, as my oncologist says, that the little buggers have already jumped on the bus), how can I ever find joy and peace again?

I know it’s a very philosophical question and it’s a little early in the a.m. to be waxing philosophical but it’s a question that has been on my mind. For now, I can’t run and goof of in the backyard with my kids, I can’t walk the dog, heck, I can’t even fold laundry (the nurse said I could fold washcloths sitting down . . . whoopdeedoo). I can’t carry laundry, can’t vacuum, can’t mow the lawn. Can’t, can’t, can’t. Where’s the joy in that? Where’s the peace?

One word: HOPE.

My reading this morning took me to Romans 15 where verse 13 jumped out at me: May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

You see, hope brings joy and peace. And real hope can only be found in God as we trust Him. Okay, philosophicalizing time. I need to ask myself, where’s my focus? Is it on the things of this world, the cancer, the ileostomy, my restrictions, the uncertainty of the future? Or is it on God and the hope of a future with Him, the knowing that He has a plan for me and the hope that He will fulfill that plan, the promise that He has started something in me that He will finish. If my focus is on Him and not on it my hope will be rightly focused and that will bring joy and peace.

Hope. Four letters that pack an awfully powerful punch. A tiny word that, rightly used and rightly focused, can change everything.

Now that’s a four-letter word I don’t mind throwing around.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 1, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome word! And not just for people with cancer. This can relate to so many areas of our lives. My writing being in the forefront of my thoughts as I put the finishing touches on my chapters and proposals to hopefully be sent out tomorrow!You may not be able to do much. But you’ve can give others hope! And that’s a big thing!

    Like

  2. Terri Tiffany

    I wanted to catch up on how you are doing. SOunds like good and bad days but I am praying for more of the good! Hope is the best thing we have to hold onto!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

