Writer’s Block . . . It’s the Anesthesia


Writer’s block is not something I usually struggle with. For the most part, my mind is a storehouse of ideas. Plots and characters, beginnings and endings, swirl around in my head like a tornado ripping through a Kentucky village. I’ve never been at a loss for words . . .until now.

I’m sitting here at my keyboard and honestly can’t think of anything to write about. You know what, I’m going to blame it on the anesthesia. The surgeon said it would remain in my system for up to three or four weeks while my body worked to metabolize it and in that time I could still suffer the effects of it.

I have noticed some effects: my attention span is short, my legs are constantly bouncing up and down from restlessness, I have difficulty focusing, I’m forgetful, and when the Tylenol wears off (I’m off the percoset now) I have body aches and irritability (the surgeon said these are all due to the residual anesthesia in my system).

Hey, it does come in handy. Forget to tell Jen something important? Anesthesia. Don’t pay attention when Jen tells me something? Anesthesia. Stick foot in mouth? Ahem. Sorry. Anesthesia.

In the 1980’s there was a popular duo who “sang” a song called Blame it on the Rain. Well, I’m singing a new song, baby: Blame it on the Anesthesia.

I feel like I’ve been given a gift here, a free pass. I’m a victim. That’s the mantra of our society, isn’t it? Everyone’s a victim? No responsibility? Now I can jump on the bandwagon. The only problem is that I can only sing this song for another week or so . . . so I need to get all the mileage I can out of it. Shhh.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 3, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So,that is what I went through back then too and here I thought it was me!Thanks for sharing about the Anesthesia :-)Blessings and prayers Mike!Writing for the King,Paul

    Like

  2. Jennifer L. Griffith

    Hey, I know how you feel. I suffered the same effects from my surgery before Christmas…and then MORE side-effects from other post-surgical decisions. I’m still waiting to get my wits about me…sigh.Makes sense to me!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

