Seven Words of Conviction


This morning Jen handed me a verse to read. She usually does her Bible reading at night and I do mine in the morning, so my reading is often a hand-me-down from her: Hey, you gotta read this.

The verse she suggested is only seven words long but hit me like a wrecking ball. I’ve been thinking about it all morning and it will no doubt bounce around in my head all day. It raises some tough questions, challenging questions, probing questions. Life-changing questions.

It’s one of those verses that I’ve probably read umpteen times and just passed right over but this time it jumped off the page and grabbed me by the ears (you know the feeling). And it is especially applicable to me right now with what I’ve been going through, with what we’ve been going through.

Okay, okay, I’ve kept you in suspense long enough. Galatians 1:24–And they praised God because of me.

Wow. That’s Paul speaking of course and through the centuries his words bring with it a challenge. Is my life causing others to praise God? Is the way I’m handling this trial, this cancer thing, prompting others to give praise to God? What’s my testimony? How’s my witness? How am I observed by the eyes of others? Not because I’m concerned with what man thinks (earlier in the chapter, verse 10, Paul asks another probing question: Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God?), but because my life should be a testimony to the greatness and faithfulness of God no matter what the circumstances. My life should cause others to praise God not because of anything I’ve done, but because they can see the power of God and the faithfulness of God at work in my life. And that should cause others to praise Him.

Seven words. And they praised God because of me. Is my life leading others to praise God?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 5, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Mike,Once again, you have shared thoughts that were on my heart and mind as I traveled this path.I can look back and see the hands of the Father on all that I have gone through.And as Paul says in Galations 1:24–“And they praised God because of Me.” Indeed our life, should cause others to praise the Father, because they see the peace, the rest, the power of the Lord working through all that we go through and they know that it is the Lord and not us.One of the greatest things I have ever heard, is when good friends of mine called to share with me, that while my children where back in Texas, they shared with them, that they had watched how I walked this path, and saw how that it made me stronger, not weaker, in my life and walk, that it was a testimony to them and those around me, how the Father will walk with us through all of this.To this day, the Lord continues to give me strength and allows me to be in the market place, in the coffee shops, to be in a place of reflecting Him and one of the greatest things I learned, is share Christ, speak if you have too :)Blessings my fellow traveler! We serve an awesome God, who will never let us go through more than He can carry us through!Thank you for being an encouragement to me, as well as others, for reminding me, that He does not waste one thing, He uses all that we go through to bring glory to Himself and we get to be part of it :)Writing for the King,Paul

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

