Living in Good Times (Medically Speaking)


Saw the surgeon yesterday and had the rest of my staples removed. It pinched a little more this time. I also got a “surgery” date for the port insertion, May 15. Yeah, next Thursday at 7:30 a.m. Then in the afternoon I have an educational class about the chemo treatments. The following week I get chemo Tuesday, see the surgeon Wednesday, and get the pump unhooked Thursday.

I have to resolve myself that for the next six months my life is going to revolve around doctor’s visits and follow-ups and chemo treatments.

All this hullabaloo makes quite an impact, though. Cancer is serious stuff and needs to be taken seriously. My oncologist said as much as he stroked his graying beard and stared out the window. He said he felt we caught it early but it isn’t a baby and needs to be treated with respect.

It’s humbling and honoring to be in the middle of this medical whirlwind and see how seriously these doctors take my health, my life, and how hard they are willing to fight to make sure I live a long, healthy life after this cancer is zapped.

As my oncologist also says, medically speaking, we’re living in good times.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 10, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you have some good doctors, Mike. And of course, the Great Physician. I’m still thinking of you and yours, and praying for you all.

    Like

  2. PTL you caught it early. Cancer is something I fear and respect. I’ve only had one relative get cancer and overcome it at 30, but seems like everyone around me is getting it. I’m always curious as to the “symptoms.” I know every case if different. But I’m wondering if you’d mind posting in retrospect about this cancer. Do you know see little “signs” of this body invasion. Maybe your story can help someone catch it even earlier!

    Like

  3. Carlos ("Carl")

    Yes, you can do it, Mike. The way to get through these treatments is one step at a time.There are some advantages to a life programmed around chemo infusions and consultations with the doctor. It has a way of focusing energy, for a time, on the most important things.Communication is key, of course. Tell the docs and nurses what you’re feeling and experiencing. They have many ways of ameliorating symptoms.I still have my implanted port in, more than 2 years after my treatments began. I go in once a month to get it “flushed.” That’s about the only medical routine I now have (I’m out of remission, but in a doctor-recommended watch-and-wait mode for a while).Grace and peace.Carl Wilton”A Pastor’s Cancer Diary”http://www.cewilton.blogspot.com

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

