A Look Back . . .


The suggestion was made that I go back in time a bit and recap what symptoms I was noticing when this journey with cancer began. Great suggestion since that is the second-most popular question I’m asked (right behind “How are you feeling?”).

It started pretty innocently in January of this year with nausea, loss of appetite, fatigue, and persistently “loose” stool. symptoms I easily attributed to a stomach bug. That went on about a week then blood started showing up in my stool. Again, something I wrote off as part of whatever bug I was battling. Well, the blood in the stool turned into passing blood clots and that’s when Jen jumped in and ordered me to see the family doctor.

In someone my age, blood in the stool is almost always the result of hemorrhoids (isn’t that a strange word?) so naturally, that’s what my family doctor suspected. But to play it safe he sent me for a colonoscopy (which happened on March 13). Prior to the procedure the gastroenterologist almost assured me it was only internal hemorrhoids; after the procedure he said four words that changed everything, “You really surprised me.” He’d found a tumor. A biopsy was taken and well, as they say, the rest is history, or at least history in the making.

As I look back on it, all the symptoms I was experiencing were symptoms of colon cancer, but in someone my age and in my health, cancer is not even on the radar. I had (or at least thought I had) an explanation for each symptom. Either a flu bug or lack of sleep or something I ate or, or, or. There was always a reason and it was never cancer.

You know what I’m thankful for every day? The ulcer on the tumor that was causing the bleeding. If I never saw blood I would have never seen the doctor and who knows how far this cancer would have progressed before I saw anymore symptoms? The oncologist said I could have had this tumor growing in me for up to four years. It’s funny, I look at photos of our vacation in Maine last year and I look so healthy and vibrant and all along I had cancer.

I guess that’s why they call it the silent killer.

Moral of my story? One, know the symptoms of cancer and don’t hesitate to get them checked out. You never know. Two, know that God is working in your life, in even the strangest ways, for your own good. We don’t see the big picture, He does. So be thankful in all things. By the way, that’s not always easy, but no one said it would be.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 12, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think one of the scariest things about cancer is not knowing you might have it. Without symptoms, how could you know! Silent killer is right. I guess that’s why it’s so important to know your body and if it’s off in any way. And this doesn’t just apply to cancer. How many people die of heart attacks or something else because they ignore the symptoms? I’ve had some pain in my chest for a couple of years. At first I thought CANCER because I had a cousin with a tumor in her chest. Then my dad and sis (36) had heart attacks within a year of each other. Between those times I got a stress test and blood work and the doctor said everything was fine. Then I started getting upper cervical adjustment for pain in my neck and shoulders and noticed that the pain in my chest would come and go depending upon if my neck was out of alignment. Now I’m convinced the pain in my chest is related to my neck/nerve pinching. BUT with family heart issues, I’m keeping and eye on this pain and if it changes I’ll definitely get it checked out again! Probably more than you wanted to know, but I believe early detection of illnesses is so important and can save lives! Thank God for you’re discerning wife!

    Like

  2. Susan Sleeman

    Mike, Thanks for reminding all of us that God sees the big picture. My little snapshots often don’t make sense and I want to change things. If I stop to tell myself that if I could see the big wide-lens shot that God holds, I wouldn’t change a thing. I need simply remember and believe the promise in Jeremiah 29:11,For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.(NIV)Thanks again for sharing your journey, Mike.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

