Feeling Like a Nut


You remember that old Almond Joy commercial with the jingle, “Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t”?

Lately, I’ve been feeling like a nut.

This whole cancer thing is very overwhelming. If I dwell on the immensity of it, the daunting persistence of the next six months, the chemo, the side effects, the doctor’s visits, the lab work, it’s easy to feel like I’m going to go crazy, just flip my lid as they say and wind up on some funny farm in some padded room where people will walk by and wag their head and say, “He used to be so normal, well, at least otherwise normal, now . . . what a nut!”

Sometimes I feel like a nut.

I know the solution, though, the solution to de-nutcase myself, and it’s a matter or perspective. The apostle Paul had it pretty rough too. In fact, compared to what he went through, this cancer stuff is, as the English say, a holiday (that’s a vacation to us yankees). And Paul’s prescription for sanity, for battling the nut germ, was to keep his eyes on the prize. He reminds us (and I would guess himself as well) that our citizenship is not on this earth, it’s in heaven and we eagerly await the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ when he will transform our bodies and carry us away (from this corrupt earth) to our heavenly abode.

That’s perspective! Hey, it really doesn’t matter what happens here on earth, the suffering, the nuisances, the trials, because I belong in heaven and someday this old body will be renewed, changed, perfected. That’s my prize. And as Paul says earlier, Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called the heavenward in Christ Jesus.

The heavenward. I like that. That’s what citizens of heaven are called. That kind of perspective is the best medicine for de-nutcasing myself. And it’s a pill I have to take on a regular basis.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 13, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Feeling Like a Nut.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

