This Angry Storm


Okay, now I’m in pain . . . UNCLE. I had the surgery yesterday to implant the port in my left chest wall and it hurts. This is the most pain I’ve experienced since the day after surgery, and I’m back on percocet. Fortunately, it only hurts when I move my shoulder so I can still type.

After the surgery, I had an educational class on chemotherapy where a nurse went over the specific medications I’ll be receiving and the specific side effects I could experience. Some I knew about (hair loss, mouth sores, nausea, vomiting, fatigue) and some I wasn’t expecting (sensitivity to cold–that means if I experience this side effect, no popsicles, no slushies, no snowballs, no ice cream, no ice for six months). Talk about a bummer.

Needless to say (or maybe I need to say it) all this information has me a bit fearful. I could experience all the symptoms or none or only a few. It’s wait and see.

This morning I read in Matthew 8 about the disciples and the boat and storm at sea. You know the story. Boat on water, raging storm, Jesus is asleep, disciples think they’re gonna die. They wake Jesus up and say, “Save us! We’re dyin‘ here!”

Jesus wipes the sleep from his eyes, looks around, and says, “Why are you so scared? Where’s your faith?” He then stands on the bow of the boat, wind whipping his hair, rain spattering his face, and tells the storm to knock it off. And, of course, it obeys.

Am I one of those disciples? Man oh man am I ever. The storms of life are kicking up, the wind, the rain, oh my. I’m clutching the side of the boat, eyes wide with fear, uncertainty looming before me like a typhoon, screaming, “Lord, save me!”

And you know what Jesus answers? “Why are you so scared? Where’s your faith?”

Where is my faith? I know Jesus can calm any storm, even the storms of life . . . even the storms of my life. Only he can rebuke those angry winds and pelting rains and bring peace where there seems there is none.

As I’ve mentioned before, it’s a matter of perspective and focus. Am I looking at the storm or at my Lord?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 16, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for your honesty and update. Our family will pick up the prayers for you and pray for minimal/no side affects! I can already see how much you’ve grown in your faith through your posts even if you feel your faith is weak!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

