A Bit of Mourning


The devotional that showed up in my inbox yesterday was on Matthew 5:4, blessed are those who mourn for they will be comforted.

Look, anytime someone strips away the facade–you know what I’m talking about, that eveything’s-wonderful facade that we too often hide behind–and reveals the real person underneath, the one that struggles and cries and worries and chews their nails to little nubs, they risk sounding melodramatic or self-pitying. I don’t want that. Please don’t read that here. As everyone’s favorite American Idol judge says, I’m just being honest.

I know full well there are those who are suffering and have suffered much, much more than I am. My current trial is like an unwanted, obnoxious houseguest whom you have to put up with for six months, but at the end the plan is that he will leave and you’ll be rid of him forever. That’s the plan, anyway. For some folk, that rude dude ain’t going anywhere and they have to live with him. They have a reason to mourn.

But the reality is, I do mourn. I mourn for the person I was, energetic, motivated, upbeat, focused . . . healthy (I’m not that person now). I mourn for the life I knew, predictable, scheduled, controlled (my life certainly isn’t that anymore). I mourn for Jen and the girls who now live with someone who isn’t who he was just three months ago.

But Matthew 5:4 gives me a promise. Blessed (happy) is he who mourns, for he will be comforted. I have comfort now in the form of the Comforter who works not only in my soul, reminding me of His presence and His promises, but in the souls of those comforting us with prayers, encouragement, and support (thank you!!).

And I have the promise and hope of future comfort. No matter what you have going on, let’s face it, life is hard, suffering and mourning are part of our existence, but someday (oh that blessed day) we will fall into the arms of our heavenly Daddy and be comforted. Really comforted. That’s something I need to remind myself of daily.

That blesses me.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 19, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A Bit of Mourning.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

