On Starfishes and Real Humility


I have my first bout of chemotherapy this morning. Not sure how that will go. I’m not real keen on the idea behind this port. I still have to get stuck with a needle. The port is completely under my skin, a couple inches below my left collarbone and to access it they have to stick it with a needle. Gives me the heebie-jeebies just thinking about it. It’s still tender from surgery too.

Anyway . . .

So while I’m talking about the beautitudes I might as well keep the ball rolling. Matthew 5:5 says, blessed [happy] are the meek [humble], for they will inherit the earth.

This one really hits home. I’ve been humbled. Big time. I used to “pride” myself on my work ethic, my endless energy, my drive, my ambition . . . lately, I’ve had none of that. I don’t know if it’s one thing in particular or the whole kit and kaboodle but . . . you ever watch that kid’s cartoon Sponge Bob Squarepants? If you have, then you know who Patrick is. I feel a lot like Patrick–a big dumb, slow, ambitionless starfish.

I’m lethargic, I’m somber, I’m weak. You remember the add for muslce builder in those old comic books and it always showed this beefed-up Biff kicking sand on the skinny little dork with the gorgeous girlfriend? Yeah, that’s me. Not the Biff, the dork. Humbled.

But that kind of humility isn’t what we’re talking about, of course. Jesus is talking about spiritual humility, the kind that says, “I’m nothing without Christ,” and means it. It’s the kind of humility that is awed by God’s greatness and quieted by our own frailty and poverty apart from Him.

Mark Roberts wrote it well in this morning’s devotional: True humility begins when we’re on our knees before God, astounded by his greatness, submitted to his sovereignty, and focused on his glory.

One of the many things this cancer has taught me is how frail we humans really are and what a thin sheet of ice our life is. Only God holds us up. Only He is calling the shots. Really. True humility realizes that and surrenders to His will. And that will get us an inheritance to put all inheritiances to shame. It’ll give us the world.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 20, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Grateful Gramma

    I understand the heebie-jeebie feeling. I’ve never had a port but I get the same feeling about IVs. Praying that your chemo will go smoothly and that you will feel God’s presence beside and within you throughout the process.

    Like

  2. Susan Sleeman

    I am praying for your comfort in this procedure and future procedures, Mike. And, of course, continue to pray for your healing and your family as you all travel through this minefield. Though it doesn’t make your battle any easier, know that your blog is a blessing to those of us who read it and through your struggles our faith grows stronger. God truly does work things for good.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

