Moments of Peace


Yesterday was my first day back at work after six weeks off. I’ll be part-timing it for a couple weeks then build up to a full-time schedule again. Honestly, it was good to be back in a routine but it felt weird returning, like I was “the new guy” starting over again. I know it will take time to get back into the swing of getting up earlier than I had been, that morning routine thing, heading off for work, and all that. I need it, though. I need to be doing something. I need the routine. A big thank you to my wonderful employers for their graciousness in working with me during this time. They’ve been so supportive and understanding . . . can anyone ask for more?

I’m almost finished with the beatitudes and have come to another one that isn’t about me but about those around me. Matthew 5:9 says Blessed are the peacemakers for they will be called the children of God.

I’ll be honest, I’ve not made peace with this whole cancer thing yet, at least not on a consistent basis. I still struggle with my faith, with my strength, with feelings of loneliness, despair, and yes, depression. There, it’s out. I’m human and not as strong as I thought I was.

But there are those around me who are genuine peacemakers and have given me glimpses of the peace I can have in the midst of this storm. They are the encouragers, the prayers, the helpers, the testifiers. Those that offer a Bible verse at just the right time, a pat on the back, a hug, an unexpected email or phone call. Those who have travelled this road before me, have traversed this valley, and now can testify of the goodness of God and of the light at the other end of this cavern. They have brought me moments of peace in this conflict.

And so my challenge will be to become a peacemaker when I have opportunities, when I see those in conflict with their own soul, with the circumstances life has thrown their way, with God’s sovereignty. To bring peace to another is to really be, to really act like, a child of God.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 28, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Michelle Gregory

    Mike,I hope I can be a peacemaker as well.I’m more than happy to help with your blog tour. Like I said in the post – anything to help a fellow writer, esp. one going thru a difficult situation. Blessings on you and your family,Michelle Gregory

    Like

  2. Mike,I am looking forward to reading your novel for the upcoming CFBA blog tour! I’ve already been following your personal struggle with cancer here, and I must say thank you for being such an awesome testimony to God’s grace and mercy.The depression…I would think more than natural and reflects only your humanity. But your attitude, that reflects Christs love and mercy in difficult circumstance, and that’s what it is all about!You hang in there and please know that this fellow blogger is praying for you!Kim FordWINDOW TO MY WORLD (berlysue.blogspot.com)

    Like

  3. Grateful Gramma

    I definitely believe God wants us to be peacemakers but I have mixed feelings about the idea of being at peace with cancer. It surely wasn’t part of God’s original plan for us and somehow I don’t see Him at peace with any sort of illness. I see Him wanting us to find our peace in Him in the midst of catastrophic illness but not necessarily that we would be at peace with the illness itself. Does that make sense?

    Like

  4. I heard about your book, “THE HUNTED” from a fellow blogger, Home-Steeped Hope.I wouldn’t mind promoting your book as well on my blog. I rather enjoy helping Christian writers get their books read.Just let me know when you would like me to do that for you.Also, I would be happy to buy and read your book, so I can even put a review. All up to you. If not, I can just do a quick review and promote it.You and your family will be in my prayers. Please don’t lose hope.

    Like

  5. Mike Dellosso

    Thanks, everyone, for your prayers. And, Leticia, you can find information on the blog tour by going here: http://blogtourspot.wordpress.com/mike-dellosso-blog-tour/. And I’d be honored if you’d read and review the book! Thank you so much.

    Like

  6. I will try to post on Monday, but no later than Tuesday, June 3rd.Glad I could help.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

