Real Persecution


In Matthew 5:10, Jesus says, blessed are those who are persecuted for doing right, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

Now look, I’m not going to stretch this cancer thing so far to make it apply here. I tried to in my mind and just couldn’t. Do I feel persecuted? Of course I do. Every time I feel nauseous from the chemo or get stuck with another needle, but that’s not what this is talking about. Jesus is talking about those persecuted for standing up for Him, for doing God’s work, for being righteous. And we all know that takes place.

But that helps me keep this in perspective. Thinking about what saints around the world have and are going through–the martyrs, the tormented, the hidden, the persecuted–keeps my relatively little discomfort as a result of cancer and its treatment in perspective.

Thinking about it now, when setting my “suffering” alongside the suffering of my heavenly siblings around the world, I have to feel a bit guilty. Yes, the reality is that this cancer could take my life, sooner or later, but I’m not being tortured or tormented or driven from my home or made to watch my family suffer horrible acts of violence. Quite the opposite, actually. I have a team of doctors and nurses fighting for my life, trying their hardest to make this journey as comfortable and successful as possible.

The saints that are truly persecuted for their faith and for remaining faithful, they are my heroes.

As an update, tomorrow Jen and I meet with the surgeon to discuss his thoughts on reversing this ileostomy as soon as possible. ASAP means as soon as we get the results back from the barium enema I’ll be getting next Friday, June 6. That will show if anything is leaking or not. Sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

* * *
I have a blog tour going on right now for my novel, The Hunted. Here’s one review to sample.
About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 29, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Real Persecution.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

