I’m Surrounded


St. Patrick wrote a hymn and some of the lyrics go like this:

Christ before me, Christ within me, Christ above me,
Christ below me, Christ behind me,
Christ to the right of me,Christ to the left of me.

Beautiful words, huh? Words that echo David’s in Psalm 139. The psalm begins with David singing about the omniscience of God. He searches us and knows us; He knows when we sit and when we rise, what we think and what we say. He is acquainted with all our ways. In short, He knows everything there is to know about us, and knows us intimately.

And still loves us.

But there’s more. God doesn’t just know us, He is here with us, surrounding us with His love and presence and protection. Verse 5 reads, You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. God’s got us surrounded, yes, but even more than surrounded. His hand is upon us. That’s protection, that’s identification . . . that’s love.

I read this passage this morning and then had to read it again and again. What a reminder! No matter what valley we traverse, no matter how deep and dark the cave we are thrust into, no matter how long or hard the journey, our Daddy is with us, surrounding us, knowing us intimately, contacting us. He has me hedged in, protecting me, and His hand is upon me. I know that with certainty.

* * *
In writing news, just a reminder for those who may not know. If you sign up for my e-newsletter you’ll get a free copy of my short story, The Last Hunt. It’s a great way to check out my writing style. You can also download the first chapter of my new novel, The Hunted. (I know, all the hunting stuff gets confusing, but the two are unrelated).
And, don’t forget, if you live in the Hanover, PA area, you are more than welcome to attend my book launch party held at the Gitt Mansion. More information and directions can be found here.
Oh, and one more thing, I’ve reached another blogging milestone. This is post number 300. Again, if was a pro baseball pitcher reaching 300 wins, I’d be on my way to the Hall of Fame. Too bad blogging isn’t the same as throwing a leather ball 90+ miles per hour at a target 1.5 feet by 2.5 feet, 60 feet away . . . while someone’s swinging a bat at it!
About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 5, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I’m Surrounded.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

