My Journey


I was standing in total darkness. My eyes were open, or at least I assumed they were, but I might as well have been staring at the inside of my eyelids. The ground beneath my feet was solid but rocky and seemed to slope downward. There was a chill in the air, a biting chill that seeped past my skin and stung my bones, and the air smelled of something rotten. Death.

Danger loomed.

With arms outstretched before me, I slid a foot forward, feeling the ground for sure footing. The rocks shifted and the ground gave way, but before I could lose my balance and tumble pell mell down the sharp incline a hand enveloped mine, my right one, and held me up.

Don’t ask me how, but I knew it to be the hand of my Lord. Jesus. It felt like any other hand of any other carpenter–large, calloused, strong–but there was something different about it. Without saying a word he pulled me forward, down the rocky slope. My feet slid and shifted but his hand never lost its grip on mine. As we descended, the temperature dropped further and the wind picked up.

Again, danger loomed.

I was confused. Why would he be leading me into danger? “I don’t understand, Lord. Why are you taking me down here?”

His voice was soft and firm and carried over the hum of the wind. “Don’t be afraid. I’m with you.”

I started to protest. “But, the–“

“Trust me. Just trust me.”

Finally, the terrain leveled. I still couldn’t see a thing, blackness surrounded me like a shroud. The ground was uneven and littered with loose gravel, baseball-sized rocks, and crevices.

At one point, the wind was so fierce and angry I feared for my life. It howled and roared like an angry devil and pushed me to the limits of my balance. Suddenly, we stopped and Jesus pulled me close to himself and held my head against his chest, shielding me from the wicked elements.

“I don’t understand,” I yelled above the raging wind. “Lord, what’s happening? I don’t understand.”

“You don’t have to understand. Trust me,” he whispered and, oddly, I heard his voice over the roar as clear as a church bell on a Sunday morning.

The wind eventually settled and we started moving again, weaving and dodging, my feet slipping, my knees buckling, his hand holding. After what seemed a journey that would never end and without warning, Jesus lifted me from my feet and cradled me in both his arms.

“Lord, I don’t–” I heard his feet splash into water and the growl of the current, a clap of thunder, and rain pelt my face.

He tighted his grip on me and said, “Trust me. Just trust me.”

His feet never faltered as he trudged through the water. I have no idea how deep it got but at one point I could feel its icy tongues lick as my heels.

After a while, the rain sputtered and stalled and we were on solid ground again. Jesus lowered me to my feet and once again took my hand in his. He then led me up an embankment I could never have scaled on my own. When we reached the summit the air began to clear and lighten, great black clouds parted and a ray, a single beam of light, pierced the darkness and warmed me.

Still holding the hand of my Lord, I watched as the light pushed back the darkness and revealed the terrain we had just traversed: a deep valley, barren of life, dotted with death, and scarred with a crevice that ran its length and formed the word CANCER.

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 10, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. An amazing, from the heart post, Mike! Thank you for sharing your journey!Kim

    Like

  2. Mike, what a profound and hauntingly beautiful post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Hi Mike,Just wanted you to know how much I appreciate your post concerning this journey that you are on, a journey that I too am still walking.You echo so many of my thoughts and feelings in this post and it reminded me of the many times whenI did not understand, that He was there. He carried me through it all and gave me His strength to press on in Him.Thank you for being as a good friend of mine would say “dirt honest” because your writing from the heart and that has and will speak volumes to those around you, to your children also.My children and grand-children have become stronger because of what the Lord has done in my life and they have seen how I have grown stronger in the midst of it all.Thank you again for the reminder Mike, blessings and prayers for your family and you!Writing for the King,Paul

    Like

  4. This is a very moving post…was this a vision or a dream from the Lord? I also want to contgratulate you on your book signing party…how awesome is He! Only one more day of training out here in Pittsburgh. My daughter wasn’t finished your book so I couldn’t take it with me. As soon as I can, I’m reading it…but not in the dark! Love ya Brother!

    Like

  5. Mike Dellosso

    Thank you all for your comments and prayers. Paul, I appreciate your words of testimony. I know you’ve been through this valley and have experienced firsthand the faithfulness of God. I value your wisdom and kind words.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

