An Evening Well-Spent


God works in strange in mysterious ways. Wonderfully strange and beautifully mysterious.

Last night I had my big book launch party. I’d invited a lot of people; Jen had prepared a lot of food (she put a lot of work into the evening–she’s so wonderful). I had big hopes.

And wasn’t disappointed.

Despite the 90+ degree temperature and threat of “severe” thunderstorms, we had over a hundred show; we ran out of food. I saw people there I hadn’t made any kind of contact with in decades. There was one guy who was a friend of my brother’s and I hadn’t seen him since I was in tenth grade. Another who I last saw when I was in eighth grade. Talk about a blast from the past.

I was encouraged. I was blessed. I was overwhelmed by the show of support. And when it was over . . . I was pooped. But it was all worth it.

God knows exactly what we need, when we need it, doesn’t He? And I needed last night. It was a special night and a memory I’ll keep around for some time. Throughout this valley, God has brought moments like last night to brighten the way and remind me of how blessed I really am.

Strange and mysterious. Sometimes, when God works, all I can do is shake my head and smile and say, “Thank you.”

Now, a word about the book. One of the greatest challenges for new authors is getting shelf space in a bookstore. Stores have only so much space on their shelves and with so many books out there must choose carefully which ones they stock. A lot of times, new authors or “unknowns” are left out. My request is that if you frequent a local bookstore, be it a Christian bookstore or general market one (Borders, B&N, or mom and pop), could you please just ask management to stock my book, The Hunted? Sometimes, that’s all it takes. If you want to go in really armed, take along the book’s critical information (ISBN#, publisher, format, etc.) which can be found here. They’ll be so impressed and will thank you for making their job easier. Thank you. Really.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 11, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you had a successful night, congratulations.I hope you are feeling well today.

    Like

  2. Am so glad the book launch was both fun and a success. Just think. If each of those 100 people go and tell one friend to read your book . . . and then each of those friends tell one friend . . . before you know it, you will have the shelf space! 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

