Keeping Things in Perspective


I know I’ve written about the duplicity of my soul before, but I was reading through something this morning and it struck me as appropriate and thought-provoking. So, since I can, I’ll share it.

Psalm 88 is a depressing psalm, no getting around that. It isn’t written by David but by the Sons of Korah. The psalm starts out with O LORD, the God who saves me, day and night I cry out before you. My my prayers come before you; turn your ear to my cry.

Uh-oh. You can tell from the first verse things aren’t going to be sounding good. And they don’t. Here’s a couple passages from the psalm:

my soul is full of trouble . . . my life draws near the grave . . . You have put me in the lowest pit, in the darkest depths . . . my eyes are dim with grief . . . Why, O LORD, do you reject me? . . . I have been afflicted and close to death . . . Your wrath has swept over me . . . they surround me like a flood; they have completely engulfed me.

Pretty depressing isn’t it? And it gets worse, the very last line of the psalm is the darkness is my closest friend.

That’s it. Nothing positive at all. On and on it goes, despair, depression, dejection, and discouragement. I read that and I thought, boy, what a way to start the day off, Lord, what are you trying to show me here?

. . . but then I read on. You have to read on. The first two verses of Psalm 89 redeem everything. I know the psalms are written by different guys but in God’s soveriegnty He arranged the book so one follows another. I think He knew people would read 88 and be blown away by the despair without hope so He stuck 89 right on its tail . . . but we have to keep reading.

Psalm 89, the first two verses say this: I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you established your line forever and make your throne firm through all generations.

Amen.

You see, Psalm 88 is from man’s perspective. At times, life stinks. Sorrow smothers us, death surrounds us, grief, hurt, envy, strife, it’s all part of this world. And if we focus on that, yeah, it’s pretty despairing and hopeless. But Psalm 89 serves to remind us, Wait! God is still on the throne and His throne is firm through all generations. His love for His children endures forever and through whatever this old sin-cursed world throws at us. Don’t despair. He is worthy of our praise.

I need to read these two psalms often. Keep things in perspective.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 26, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the timely post, Mike. Frankly, I awoke feeling very Psalm 88-ish this morning. Some financial things were weighing heavy on me. I read your blog and then read Psalm 89 for a full-dose of encouragement. Verses 15-16 of the Psalm spoke to me. “Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, O Lord. They rejoice in your name all day long; they exult in your righteousness.”

    Like

  2. I REALLY needed this to begin my day! God arranged this blog post as surely as he arranged those Psalms. Thank you for your faithfulness!I will dwell on HIS love and mercy and PRAISE HIM for salvation today!Kim

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    The word, “perspective,” is interesting. A good friend was fond of saying, “look at the situation from God’s point of view.” Talk about POV. Our POV is often limited to a tiny piece of the action, while God sees the entire story from beginning to end. His Word gives us insight into His POV.Thanks for another great post.Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. I am so appreciative of your honesty and transparency during the past few posts. You are an encouragement, for sure! I’ll be sure to flag these two passages in my Bible.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

