Holding Daddy’s Hand


When I was a kid I lived in Baltimore City one block off a major four-lane street (Harford Road for those familiar with B-more). My aunt and uncle lived on the other side of that street. Often, we would walk to their house, which meant crossing four lanes of city traffic.

Now, as a child, standing on one side of Harford Road, looking across four lanes of cars as they whizzed by, feeling the hot air rush past in each car’s wake, was pretty intimidating. I could never do it alone, wasn’t allowed to do it alone, and, in fact, if I would have tried to do it alone would have had my hide tanned four shades of red. But I didn’t have to worry about that because I wouldn’t do it alone . . . I was too scared. To me, that was four lanes of certain death. No question about it. You remember that old video game Frogger? The one where you have to maneuver a frog through heavy traffic and try not to get him squashed? Yeah, I played that game then and knew what my fate would be if I tried crossing that street by myself.

But when Mom or Dad was by my side, holding my hand, leading the way, all fear was dispelled.

Reminds me of one of my favorite verses, Isaiah 41:13, For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, “Fear not, I will help you.”

What a tender, beautiful picture!

No matter what street we have to cross; no matter now many lanes or how heavy the traffic is; no matter how deep the valley or wide the desert; no matter how rough the waters . . . our Heavenly Father, our Daddy, is holding our hand, giving a little squeeze, as He whispers in our ear, “Don’t be scared, my child, I’m here and I will help you.”

In cancer news, I see the oncologist today and will fill him in on all the side effects I’ve been experiencing from the chemo as well as some other questions I have. Tomorrow I go in for round 5 of chemo treatments.

I was very rattled by the news of Tony Snow’s death. He had colon cancer. I heard him on the radio just a couple months ago and he was saying he was feeling good, the cancer was in remission and he was enjoying spending time with his family. Then Saturday I hear he lost his battle with cancer and died. Wow. Humbling. Sobering. I believe Tony was a Christian and, praise God, has experienced a complete healing now.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 14, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Dear Mike -Thank you for the wonderful example of a parent’s care. The Lord is holding your hand through all this.It’s hard to hear of a patient with the same type of cancer losing the battle. Yet, there are so many variables from patient to patient. The doctors tailor treatment to each individual.Keep holding His hand. We’re praying for not only you, but your family.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Mike, I love this picture. Reminds me of a sermon once. The teacher was talking about the picture of “Abba” and expressed two visuals.One, his daughter kicks a winning goal for her soccer team. She looks around to see if her dad notices. She locks eyes with him, and then begins running for him, outstretched arms, crying, “Daddy!” He with equal joy, stretches his arms open and receives her.Two, his son is awakened by thunder in the middle of the night, and in a trembling voice calls out “Daddy!” He rushes to his side, wraps his arms around him, and tells him everything will be fine; he’s there.Continuing to hold you up in prayer.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

