The Motherly Side of God


An odd title, I know. And no, I’m not saying God is female. God is God. The Bible refers to Him as “He” and “His” and “Him” for our benefit but He does display what we would consider motherly qualities. Remember, both male and female are made in God’s image.

Consider: A friend recently sent me an email with Psalm 91 in it. A great psalm and one you should read today. It talks about God’s protection of His own and our refuge and safety in Him in times of trials. Verse four always strikes me as special, though. I love the word picture. It says, He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge.

Mother birds protect their young by hiding them under their wings. Can you see it? Do you have the image in your head? I certainly do.

I see God gathering His children, His young and weak and frightened and helpless, under His wings, pulling them close into the warmth and protection of His body. I feel the strength in His wings, the security of His closeness. Peace replaces fear.

Listen, when trials hit, when struggles come, when fear overwhelms, run to Him and find refuge under His broad wings of protection and love.

I love that picture. So . . . motherly.

In cancer news, I saw the oncologist Monday and he was concerned about the severity of the side effects I experienced after the last treatment. The original plan was to go six treatments of IV chemo and six treatments of oral chemo. He said if the side effects are equally as bad or worse this time around we’ll start the oral chemo next time around (for most people, the side effects with the oral are milder than with the IV). To date, as of yesterday, I’ve had five treatments.

Yesterday went as well as expected. I left chemo feeling light-headed and very tired and with this darn sensitivity to cold. It’s the oddest thing. But, hopefully, by late next week I’ll be enjoying my traditional hot fudge brownie sundae again . . . and making a complete pig of myself.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 16, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yum. . . hot fudge sundaes. I hope you enjoy it to the fullest.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    We continue to pray for you, Mike. Loved your post and experienced that kind of protection myself.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Mike….Elshadi…the life giver and nurturer. I heard years ago in a message by Marvin Rosenthal that ‘Shad’ in the Hebrew language means breast. As always, we pray for you.love,pamela

    Like

  4. Catching up on your blog while typing in the dark in a hotel room on vacation!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

