He Carries My Disease


I can’t sleep again. I’m tired, so tired that after a few minutes of reading in bed I can barely keep my eyes open and the words on the page blur like I was cross-eyed. But as soon as I close my eyes to sleep I get very restless and feel a sudden urge to scream or holler. I know it sounds crazy and many of you are probably shaking your head and thinking, “Oh, no, he’s finally lost it, gone over the edge, signed into the local funny farm.” It’s not like that, though. It’s not an actual urge to scream, it just feels that way. Hard to explain. Has anyone else experienced this?

Anyway, eventually, in the wee hours of the morning I do fall asleep. Maybe it’s my nerves, anxiety, stress, I don’t know. It’s weird because last week I couldn’t get enough sleep and now I can’t buy an easy entrance into La-La Land.

I was reading this morning in Matthew 8 when Jesus went to Peter’s mother-in-law’s house because she was sick with a “fever.” After healing the woman with a simple touch, word spread like nobody’s business. Soon the whole town was there with their demon-possessed and sick. And you know what Jesus did? He sent them all home. No, not really. After a long day in the mid-east heat, after dealing with people all day, after dealing with the disciples all day, after being on his feet all day, Jesus took the time to heal them all.

Why?

It says in verse 8 why. So he could fulfill what Isaiah prophesied: He took up our infirmities and carried our diseases. The New Century Version says He took our suffering on him.

You see, with Jesus it’s personal. His healing almost always involved touching the person, contacting them, identifying with them. Taking their affliction, infirmity, suffering on himself. I never thought of it that way before. Disease and suffering and illness are results of sin in the world and when Jesus healed he didn’t just banish the affliction to some hinterland, he placed it upon himself. That’s deep.

That’s comforting as well. I know that with what I’m going through Jesus can relate, he can identify with me. He knows the valley I travel; he knows every pitfall, every obstacle, every downturn. Because he’s personally travelling it too. He’s placing my suffering on himself and carrying my disease on his own shoulders.

That’s deep.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 23, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the post, Mike. Keep holding on to the Great-Empathizer-Healer.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -If you’re on the new chemo regimen, the sleeplessness might have something to do with the drugs. You might want to ask your doctor.Whenever there’s stress or anxiety in my life, the first area to be hit is sleep. I’ve learned to pray scripture concerning sleep. Isaiah 26:3 is not about sleep, but also helps. Great insights on Jesus, the healer. Blessings,Susan šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Thank you for the encouragement Mike!Please know that I’m still praying for you.Kim

    Like

  4. Connie Gilbert

    Mike, You may have a sleep disorder. I waited too many years with little sleep before I gave in & went to a sleep center. Found I had Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome & Restless Leg Syndrome. (My symptoms were similar to yours.) I'm now on medication that has truly transformed my life. I can sleep! I also learned that there are nearly 100 different sleep disorders. Also, I never realized how badly I had put myself & others in danger's way- especially when driving without sleep.Yes, the Lord carries my disease- He took on my suffering- but He also gave man the ability to solve medical disorders. Last month, my medication went generic. In this day of gas & food prices rising daily, it is refreshing to be able to sleep at half the cost!As a nurse & fellow-sufferer, I suggest you talk with your doctor.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

