Strong and Courageous? Yeah, Right


Okay, I’m in my post-chemo funk. Tired, queasy, depressed. Yesterday I was home from work and rested and slept a good bit of the day. Today, I’ll work a half-day, get this blasted pump unhooked, and head home to rest.

Monday morning, Jen and our oldest daughter, Laura, head to Puerto Rico for a two-week missions trip helping out at a school for deaf kids. I’m thrilled for them to have this opportunity but the thought of two weeks without my wife and eldest doesn’t help my present state of mind any. Just being honest.

So I’m sitting here wondering what I’m going to write about, doing a little self-examination, thinking about what I’m thinking about and my eyes fall on my key chain on my desk. On my key chain is a little flashlight thingy all the men got for Father’s Day at my church. Printed on the back of it, and facing up on my desk, are the words “Be Strong” and the passage Joshua 1:9.

Of course I know the verse, it’s one of my favorites and has brought me encouragement on many occasions, but it’s always nice to be reminded.

It says (God speaking to Joshua (and to you and me)): Be strong and courageous, don’t be afraid nor dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go [and may I add, whatever you go through].

There it is, in black and white, straight from the mouth of my Lord. Be strong and courageous. But how, Lord, when I feel so weak and cowardly? Don’t be afraid nor dismayed. But how, when there’s so much to fear?

“Remember,” He says, “I’m with you wherever you go, through whatever valley you travel, whatever mountain you climb, whatever desert you traverse . . . I’m there.”

Those two words on that key chain flashlight reminded me that I’m not alone. My Father is right here with me and because of that I don’t have to fear and I can be strong and courageous. He takes away fear and replaces it with strength. Amen.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 1, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -How awesome that God uses even the tiniest things to cheer and encourage us. He reminds us we overcome not by our own strength, but by His.As always, thanks for your transparency.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

