Taking Sides


You ever feel like God isn’t on your side? Like you and Him are on two different pages and your plans just aren’t lining up? You find yourself looking at your predicament or place in life, scratching your head, and saying, “Lord, are we on the same side here?”

I know I have. It isn’t a pleasant feeling, realizing that you and the God of the universe are at odds.

The solution is simple, though. 2 Chronicles15:2 says, The LORD is with you while you are with Him.

Simple, right? As long as we’re with God, He’s with us. God doesn’t guarantee He’s always on our side (practically speaking,;positionally, if we’re a child of God He’s on our side no matter what), but He does guarantee He’s on our side so long as we’re on His side. I see it this way. If you are a soldier with the U.S. Army you have the might and strength of the American military behind you so long as you follow orders and side with the U.S. Army. Become some rogue agent or traitor start doing your own thing and . . . well, you’re on your own, no guarantees.

So the way to be on the same side as God is to get on His side, follow His orders, commit to serving only Him, and be faithful.

I know, I know, easier said than done. Believe me, I know.

In other news, I see the oncologist this afternoon and hopefully will get my marching orders concerning switching over to the pill. As I understand it now, the pill only replaces the pump so I’ll still have to go in for my bi-weekly IV treatment. Bummer. It’s on Wednesday this week and I’m already getting anxious about it, knowing how I’ll feel afterward.

Talked to Jen last night and she and Laura are having a great time in Puerto Rico. Their trip is half over and I’m so ready for them to come home.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 11, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a great reminder, Mike. I often listen to Charles Stanley on Sundays when I am getting ready for church and he is famous for saying, “Obey God and leave all the consequences to Him.” Like you said, simple to say, but not as easy to do. Especially when you are struggling. I continue to pray for you and know God and sees your desire to serve Him even as you are anxious about your health.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

