Changing and Rearranging


Okay, so here’s the latest scoop on chemo stuff. I saw the oncologist yesterday and he is going to put me on the pill. But, as always, there’s positive and negative (isn’t that how life is?).

The positive: No more pump! That’s huge. That thing was so annoying. I won’t miss it at all. Also, praise God for good insurance. I’ll be taking six pills a day for six, fourteen-day cycles and the pills are upwards of a thousand dollars a day. With my insurance I’ll pay $90 for a three-month supply.

The negative: As I mentioned, I’ll be taking six pills a day for fourteen days (six cycles of this) then get a week off. That’s three weeks. This means the IV treatment (which I’ll still be undergoing . . . for now) will be on a three-week cycle rather than the two-week cycle that it’s currently on. So that pushes everything back. Rather than finishing up chemo October 21 I’ll now be finishing up November 26. Bummer. That means the surgery to reverse the ostomy won’t take place until probably late December/early January rather than November. Bummer again.

You know what all this changing and rearranging reminds me of? We make our plans but God is the one who directs our paths. More and more I’m learning (slowly . . . hey, I have a thick head) that God is in charge here. He’s calling the shots, setting the schedule, making the plans. Not me. Not the oncologist. Not the surgeon. My challenge is to submit to His timing and not fight it. He knows what’s best (note to self: read that again).

With chemo round number 7 on Wednesday I’m gearing up and preparing myself for another several days of feeling ill. But then I’m over the half-way mark and only have five more!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 12, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Keep hanging in there, Mike. Here are verses I’m learning more and more about…found in 1 Peter 5:6-7…”Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”There are lots of good words to reflect on, like “humble” and “cast,” but it’s the phrase “in due time” that has been a zinger for me recently.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Wow – there are a huge number of positives here. No more pump.The insurance covering a major portion of the tab.Hopefully, less side effects.I’ve just had a situation in my writing concerning God’s timing. Sometimes we think, “Okay, God, I’m ready now.” And He says, “Not quite.”Blessings,Susan J. Reinhardt 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m dealing with questioning God’s timing myself. Have you read my posts the last couple of Sundays? Though I shouldn’t complain, all of the things I’m dealing with are incredible blessings, and surprisingly I’m not feeling the stress like I normally would!Hang in there. God’s timing is perfect!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

