Remembering Who I’m Fighting For


While Jen and Laura are gone I’ve been staying most nights at my parents’ house. They’re taking care of Caroline and Abby while I’m at work and it’s easier for me just to sleep there. Now, as you can imagine there are many perks to staying at Hotel Mom and Dad’s. I get to enjoy Mom’s pampering and get to spend more time with both of them. They’re taking good care of us.

Yesterday morning, my dad (who is a pastor and in the middle of preparing his sermon for Sunday), shared a verse with me that I’ve been thinking about ever since. Nehemiah 4:14.

The Jews were in the middle of rebuilding the Jerusalem wall when Sanballat and his cronies came along to discourage them, told them their wall was junk and would never hold off the enemy, even a fox could knock it down. Basically, talking up some major trash. And it was beginning to work. The people were losing heart. Seeing this, and knowing he had to do something, Nehemiah stationed people (armed with swords, spears, and bows) by the low and exposed places along the wall, then stood up and said to the people: “Don’t be afraid of them. Remember the Lord who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons and your daughters, your wives and your homes.”

My enemy is cancer. I’m in the midst of a battle. There’s two things in this verse that jump out at me. One, remember the Lord who is great and awesome. Great and awesome. I’d say so. Can God destroy this enemy of mine? Of course He can. Can God give me the strength to endure? Yes. Is God able to see me through? Right again. When the going gets rough, I just need to remember that. Remember that my Lord is great and awesome. How easy it is to forget.

Remember.

Two, I’m not just fighting for me. I’m fighting for Jen who needs her husband around a bit longer. Who wants to grow old with her husband and enjoy the time they have together. I’m fighting for Laura and Abby and Caroline who need their daddy and want to be able to run and play with him in the backyard, who want their daddy to give them away on their wedding day and hold their babies. I’m fighting for so much more than myself. I’m fighting for my family and our future.

This isn’t just about me.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 13, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. And, Mike, as you’re fighting you’re sharing your journey and God is glorified through your words. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Oh Mike, this is an important message for all of us!! There are a lot of life-changing battles taking place right now, and God has allowed you to encourage and share His word and encouragement with all of us! Thank you!

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Right on, Mike! You’re doing great as you continue trusting in our awesome God.Blessings,Susan J. Reinhardt 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

