I’m on the Pill


I had my regular chemo treatment yesterday then took my first dose of the pill last night. If you’re interested and know anything about chemo drugs, the drug I was on via the pump was 5FU and the new oral drug is Xeloda which, when metabolized by my liver, breaks down into 5FU. So it’s essentially the same poison . . . I mean drug.

I’ll take six pills a day, three in the morning, three in the evening, for fourteen days, then have a week off and do it all over again. For five more cycles. Five more. I can do this. I have to keep telling myself that.

My oncologist increased my dosage of the IV chemo drug (Oxaliplatin (not sure on the spelling)) I received yesterday and some of my side effects are already a little worse, particularly the cold sensitivity and neuropathy (tingling/numbness) in my fingertips and tongue and even now in my feet. I’ve never had it before in my feet. We will need to keep an eye on this, though, because the neuropathy can become permanent if allowed to progress too far.

I never cease to be amazed at the damage these drugs can do while attempting to save my life. It’s a trade-off really, that old lesser of two evils thing. But I have to keep telling myslef the trade-off is for my life. Kind of a big thing, dontcha think? I’m expecting these next two or three days to be rough with the fatigue and other side effects but . . . this too shall pass.

So there you have it. Five more cycles. I can do this.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 14, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Josiah Ritchie

    Do chemo pills have to come in special packaging or anything? Certainly a child-safe cap. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. My stash doesn’t arrive in the mail until tomorrow so for now I’m on “borrowed” pills from the doctor’s office. I was told several times, though, to make sure no one else handles the pills without wearing gloves. The drug can get into their bloodstream through their pills and that’s no good. Potent stuff.Mike

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    When my husband was on chemo, the nurses had to wear special gloves and be certified to administer chemo. Keep that stuff far, far away from curious little people.Blessings,Susan πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Mike, your title for this blog is great. Glad you can have a sense of humor during all of this.

    Like

  5. Mike, you are brave to share this journey so candidly with all of your readers. You CAN do this!!Prayers,Kim

    Like

  6. So if you miss a dose can you get pregnant? Sorry, you were asking for it!On a serious note, you can do this!! You will do this!

    Like

  7. Hi Mike,I read your interview at Novel Journey and thought I’d pay a visit. I’m a cancer survivor (Hodgkins lymphoma at age 30), and a writer of faith-based fiction, too. Just wanted to encourage you to hang in there. Chemo is tough, going bald isn’t fun, mouth pain, fatigue. Yeah. And those weren’t even the hardest things to cope with for me. God brought me through and He’ll see you through too. He’s good that way. Peace and wholeness to you!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

