Writing Honest


I’d like to take a few short sentences here to thank everyone who has commented on my recent blogs. You’re the best. Your words usually come at just the right time and say exactly what I need to hear. Thank you for being sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit and offering words of encouragement and exhortation. Words I need to hear over and over again. This cancer journey isn’t easy, but it’s so comforting to know you’re out there, praying and rooting me on. Thank you.

I also get a lot of comments about how honest and gritty some of my posts are. Writing does that to me. It’s therapy. I get a thought in my head or a feeling in my gut and I have to get it out, I have to write it down. It’s one of the beautiful things about the written word: you can express your deepest fears, your most anxious thoughts, your fondest moments or most sentimental memories, and it’s there, in black and white for all to see and read and hopefully be touched by.

That’s one of the reasons I love writing stories so much, they are a way for me to transfer my own struggles and triumphs onto someone else, a fictitious someone else. I often use an emotional blueprint when developing my characters. They wrestle with what I wrestle with. The fears and hopes and pain they feel, I have often already felt. Again, it’s therapy for me.

Now, granted, all this honesty and pouring out my soul in words takes a bit of getting used to. For the non-writer it may seem a bit weird to put yourself out there like that, to be so vulnerable and transparent when you know darned well total strangers are going to be reading your words, knowing your innermost feelings, learning things about you that only you and a few close others may know.

It does take some getting used to. In fact, it takes a lot of getting used to. But once you learn to be honest with yourself, with how you really feel and you learn to remove that mask of self-sufficiency and self-righteousness when you’re by yourself, it’s not so hard to do it in public. You know who you are–flawed, weak, strong, frightened, whatever–and you’re comfortable with that or at least with being honest about it.

I’d like to think I’m being pretty transparent in my writings. At times I feel like a hypocrite because I write about trusting God one day and about being borderline obsessed with dying the next. But that’s being human isn’t it? Don’t we all do that? Have ups and downs, moments of strength and great faith and moments of weakness and doubt? I sure hope so, because if it isn’t I better start trying to phone home.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 21, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Fresh, earthy, gutsy, self-revealing, and theraputic popped to mind as I read your words. The post rocks!

    Like

  2. Mike, “there has no temptation taken you but that which is common to man”….that is why we connect with what you are saying.

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -When we hide behind a mask, we cut ourselves off from others. Internalizing our pain, whether emotional or physical, only makes it worse. The Body of Christ cannot function as individual, unrelated parts. Scripture tells us to bear one another’s burdens. So, Mike, we thank you for allowing us the privilege of encouraging, praying, and exhorting. We know you’d do the same thing for us if we were brave enough to express our need.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. Greetings again from Scotland! It is absolutely necessary when going through the tough times to be yourself. Other people don’t know what to say most of the time but want to help. They tend to offer christian platitudes that irk. Especially if we pretend to cope,if we are honest it puts them at ease.Romans 8… yes,quoted to me SO many times, we know Gods in control when it hurts ,and we do need friends, but life really stinks sometimes and WHY did God pick us to witness this bit for him?God understands it all and just holds us while we rant.The agony does come to an end eventually and whatever the outcome we WILL always be the winner.HE says so! ……and from uncomfortable experience I know its true!Just hang in there! Jenni

    Like

  5. I had an aunt tell me one time that she wished her sister had talked more openly about her struggle with cancer. She said it would have helped her and her sister both. They are both gone now (my aunt was almost 90 when she shared this with me) but I’ve never forgotten that insight.All of us need to be able to share our hearts. It’s not always easy to share someone’s pain, but it is so necessary for it lightens the load for the one and gives needed insight and future strength for the other. God was very wise to arrange our hearts and minds in such a way.You encourage and challenge me every time I stop by. Thank you for that. My prayers continue for you and your family.Blessings,Kim

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

