Being of Sound Mind . . . While It Lasts


Okay, it’s been fourteen days since my last chemo treatment, I just took my last dose of oral chemo, and I’m feeling pretty good. I’m looking forward to having a week of no chemo too.

One of the biggest perks for me (and my family) of being chemo-free is my emotional/mental state. For several days following each treatment my morale takes a nose dive into no-man’s land. I fight depression, mood swings, negative feelings, discouraging thoughts, and more. But once the effects start wearing off things take a turn for the better. Thankfully.

So . . . being of sound mind and spirit, thinking straight, and having all my mental faculties at least where I can see them, let me make a few declarations.

One, I trust God. I know I’m in His hands and my life, however long or short it may be, is woven into His master plan.

Two, this chemo has an end and I can make it through the full course. If things go on schedule, I should be finished by the end of November. That’s not an eternity away.

Three, with the support of my family and friends and people I’ve never even met, I can not only make it through this thing, but make it through as a stronger person than when I began.

Four, God will use this experience for good. It is not in vain.

There. This is a post I’ll have to remind myself to revisit next week when I’m in the midst of the storm and the wind and waves and rain rob me of my joy and steal my future.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 26, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Amen! God never wastes what we go through in life. Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

