On Opportunities and Being a Blubbering Idiot


Here’s a couple things on my mind this Labor Day morning (warning: they don’t have to do with Labor Day or holidays):

Life is short. For some it really is short, cut off before it’s time, for the rest it just seems short when compared to eternity. Ephesians 5:15 is so convicting and right where my heart is. Be very careful, then, how you live–not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Make the most of every opportunity. Wow. Gets me to questioning: How much time do I squander away on nonsense things? How many opportunities do I miss because I think I have time to “do it later”? I think I’m realizing this more and more as I go through this cancer thing. Life is short, make the most of it, make the most of every opportunity, don’t waste it away on things that really don’t matter, don’t walk by open doors.

Okay, second thing. Not really something I’m thinking about per se but something that’s definitely on my mind. I’ve turned into a blubbering idiot. That may be a harsh way to put it, but I cry a lot now. I cry watching movies; I cry watching my kids play; I cry when Jen and I have “intense fellowship,” as my dad calls it; I got all teary-eyed watching a couple in church yesterday with their newly-adopted baby. What is this? I always was the sentimental type but this is over the top.

That’s it. Tomorrow I go for round eight of chemo. Not looking forward to going through it but looking forward to getting it over with.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 1, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Years ago, the phrase, “killing time,” was common. Now, I think more in terms of time waiting for someone or something (like a doctor or the laundry)as an opportunity to catch up on my reading.Time is not a renewable resource. God has made us stewards of our lifespan. Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Mike,What a poignant post. When my husband’s uncle went through chemo, he too was a blubbering fool. I don’t know if it’s the chemicals at play or not, but know this – you’re not alone. I pray God grants you great grace through this round, and that He heals you completely.Blessings.

    Like

  3. Go for it Mike.As the Queen song says ” We are the champions…….”If God is for us…. Am lifting you up in Jesus name!!!Jenni x

    Like

  4. Mike, I don’t think getting emotional like that makes you a blubbering idiot. It just reveals the truly sensitive person God made you to be, and your cancer scenario has heightened your sensitivity. Sometimes I get the same way. Touching movies always do it for me: like the end of Facing the Giants. Both my wife and I were crying. I’ve never bought into the saying that real men don’t cry. Real men, then, apparently don’t write touching novels. Channel that sensitivity into your novels, and you’ll find power behind your words. It’s the sensitivity that will make your characters live and breathe. I praise God that you can cry. I believe real men DO cry. Crying means that you care, and being a caring person is what God intends of all of us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Just my two cents. I’d personally rather be a blubbering idiot than have a heart of stone.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

