Sharp as a Bubble


Chemo does some funky things with your head. They call it “chemo brain.” I had my treatment yesterday and spent the rest of the day saying some pretty silly things. In all seriousness, I’d make a comment or think I was waxing eloquent only to have Jen and the girls burst into laughter. Soon, after thinking about how ridiculous or obvious or nonsensical my words were, I’d join in on the laughter. I’m glad I can still laugh at myself. We had some good guffaws.

In other thoughts, I was reading again this morning about the disciples crossing the Sea of Galilee and getting ambushed by a storm with attitude (Luke 8). What caught my eye this time was Jesus’ words at the beginning of the passage. “Let’s go over to the other side of the sea.”

You think Jesus knew what lay ahead? You think he was well aware of the impending storm brewing just over the horizon? Of course he was. And yet he still wanted them to cross the sea.

It reminded me that Jesus knows what lies ahead; he knows what troubles and trials are hiding just over the horizon, and yet sometimes he asks us to go through them anyway. But both times Jesus asked the disciples to cross the sea, knowing full well they’d get stuck in a storm and fear for their lives, he was there with them and calmed the sea. What comfort that brings.

I don’t know why, but for some reason Jesus has asked me and my family to cross this sea of cancer. He said, “Go to the other side,” knowing what the journey would hold. But praise God I have his promise that he’s there with us, weathering the storm by our side, protecting us from the raging winds, shielding us from the angry rain and waves. And when we need it most, calming us in the midst of the storm.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 3, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Amen!And amen!

    Like

  2. It reminds me of the Christian song (can’t remember the name of it or who sings it) but a few lyrics are this….”Sometimes He calms the storm and other times He calms His child”

    Like

  3. WOW!! Thank you for this encouraging word! I’m sitting by the phone now waiting word on a dear aunt of main who has suffered a major stroke. The Lord alone knows what her family is going to be asked to go through. This is a huge encouragement to me today! No nonsense here!!AMEN!!Kim

    Like

  4. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Side effects like that we can handle. Scripture tells us laughter is good medicine. When going through the Big C with my husband, we asked people to send us lots of clean, funny stories and jokes. We also got some DVD’s of Christian comedians and whooped it up.It’s hard to be depressed when you’re laughing.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  5. Mike,During and right after chemo, I tended toward inexplicable word substitutions. I remember talking to my husband about the flowers I’d received, and how much they meant to me, being stuck home. They brightened the house and my spirit. But instead of saying “roses” when I meant to, I said something like “eggplant.” Keep rowing that boat, and if you see someone walking toward you across the waves, don’t freak out!

    Like

  6. Just when you think He’s asleep in the boat,you realise that He’s teaching you to sail…. Jenni

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

