Ruler of ALL


Well, I made it through the darkest part of the valley again. I’m finding the four days following chemo treatments are the toughest, the loneliest, the most trying days. It’s hard to describe exactly how I feel. There’s a physical aspect, the nausea, fatigue, thirst, body aches, but even worse is the psychological and emotional aspects.

It’s a very dark time crowded with thoughts of doubt and despair. I find myself reasoning with myself whether it’s all worth it or not, tempted to just throw in the towel and take my chances. Call it quits. Mood swings abound, irritability, restlessness, sleeplessness. I pity my family, I really do. I know I’m no fun to live with during those days.

Anyway, I’m not writing all this to get your sympathy. It’s the road I’ve been given to travel. Like it or not.

I do have a point, though.

In Psalm 103:19, David sings, The LORD has established his throne in heaven, and his kingdom rules over all.

Did you catch that last word? It’s easy to miss as it’s only three letters. ALL.

His kingdom rules over all. That’s not just talking in terms of geography. The Lord rules over all. He rules over this cancer and it’s blasted side effects. He rules over this valley I’m stuck in for the moment. He rules over my darkest hours and the light glowing just around the corner. He rules over the entire circumstance.

I know I pound this home week after week, but I really need to keep reminding myself . . . God is in control. He is ruler of ALL, reigning from His throne in heaven, but intimately involved in even the most mundane aspects of my life.

That’s something. Really something.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 8, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -We continue to pray for healing, as well as strength, courage, and peace. I keep thinking of the Footprints poem and the scripture about casting all our cares on the Lord for He cares for us.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Yep Mike, sometimes it feels as if life really stinks. David,Elijah,Jonah and loads of others thought so and God had picked them out for “executive ” jobs!But as you say HE is in control and He LOVES you more than you will ever comprehend. Still at your back in prayer mate, Jenni

    Like

  3. A-men!! I’m reminding myself of that a lot these days too. What mercy! What peace! What promise!Kim

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

