Things That Matter, Part Two


Things that matter vs. things that only seem to matter.

Cancer has a way of causing you to step back and take a close look at life, of evaluating just what in the world I’m doing here and why I’m doing it. Suddenly, time is precious and it’s not your friend. Those grains of sand in the hour glass keep falling, steady, steady, and time keeps moving on. Now, I know anyone’s life could end at any time. That’s a reality of life most folk don’t want to acknowledge. But when you’re diagnosed with something like cancer the brevity of life and the immanency of death are suddenly front and center stage.

And suddenly, things that matter and things that only seem to matter are important.

So I’ve been doing some thinking, a lot of thinking, actually. And being honest with myself I have to admit I spend way too much time and expend way to much energy fretting, worrying, debating, whatever, over things that only seem to matter but really don’t last past today. I presume I’m not alone.

So what really matters? Eternal things. People. Building relationships and bridges with people. Investing in the lives of people. Spreading the good news of God’s Word with people. Encouraging and exhorting and lifting up people. Coming to the aid of people. Equipping people.

There’s a guy who walks by my house every morning. An older gentleman with a marked limp and hunched back. He really matters. A single mom I know who struggles with raising her son into a godly man without a strong father figure around. She really matters. The folk at church who want to serve God but just don’t know how or where to start. They really matter.

Get the picture? Things that matter are things that will last past today. Things that make a difference in the eternal realm of things.

How that looks to you and how it looks to me may differ but the basics are the same: it’s an issue of having an eternal perspective vs. an earthly perspective.

A challenge: Evaluate yourself and your life. What things matter and what things only seem to matter. Be honest now, and realize it’s a humbling exercise. Look at the things you spend the majority of your time and energy on. Are they things that really matter? Can you make them things that really matter by using them to impact eternity? With the right heart attitude and motive, things that only seem to matter can be transformed into things that really do matter.

I don’t wish cancer on anyone–I’d never do that–but I do wish everyone could experience an event as life-changing and perspective-altering as cancer.

Now, the challenge for me, for you, is to take all this self-evaluating and soul-searching and by golly do something about it.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 12, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Amen. Even when we have those life-altering events, those lessons can become dim after the crisis is past. I’m in the midst of several “seem to matter” things, which have been causing me much frustration and concern. Thanks for the reminder of what’s truly important.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for reminding me of what matters, Mike. I’m preparing to go to a writer’s conference, actually quite consumed with it, and in reality it just doesn’t matter. I’ll remember your post to help me keep what matters a priority.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

