Encounter with a Mack Truck


Had chemo yesterday. I felt okay until about 5:00 last night then the proverbial Mack truck sideswiped me, spun me around, and left me in the gutter. Wow. This morning isn’t much better. I called off work today, which I hate to do, but I really need a day to rest and regroup.

My oncologist and I had an interesting and profitable talk yesterday about the feasibility of continuing with the Oxaliplatin infusion chemo. Yesterday was dose 9 of 12 and the neuropathies in my feet, hands, and tongue have worsened, which is something they want to avoid because it can be permanent damage.

So the question was posed: Do I really need to finish out the final three doses of infusion therapy or would I be safe finishing out on the Xeloda (oral chemo) alone. He seems to think I’d be okay finishing out on the pill alone. He ran down the numbers and studies and what the “textbooks” say then said his gut feeling is that I’m “cancer free”. He also stated that 75% of the benefits of chemo come from the Xeloda anyway.

So the plan is this, I’ve scheduled one more infusion chemo treatment. I see the oncologist right before that and we will evaluate where I am with the neuropathies and other side effects and talk about whether we want to try one more session or just cancel it and go with the pill for the remainder three treatments.

I don’t like things being up in the air like this, I’m the kind of person that likes to know where we’re going and when we’ll get there. But, as the saying goes, it is what it is.

In the comments for yesterday’s post a fellow blogger who I consider a new friend (one of the many blessings this cancer has brought) dropped me a verse from Isaiah that lifted my spirits. 26:3-4 says, You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in You. Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal.

Peace can only be found in the Lord. Notice in the last sentence Isaiah mentions “LORD” three times. Think he’s tryint to get a point across?

That’s my challenge. In the midst of all this discomfort and uncertainty to keep my mind fixed on the Lord, my Rock, the only One who can bring true and lasting peace. He has a plan in all this, I know He does, and He is faithful and true and will complete the work He’s started in me. This cancer is a learning experience, a character-builder, a faith-strengthener, a building block.

Note to self: think on this often!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sitting here having a quick lunch and thinking about you. Had prayed yesterday that God would spare you the last few sessions of chemo if it was possible.Praise Jesus! Still praying….

    Like

  2. Although I don’t always comment, I think of you often. Hope you can skip the last few treatments. Glad that it has not affected your ability to write and share what’s on your heart. Your posts are always encouraging to me in my walk.

    Like

  3. Mike,It is your unwavering faith in the face of this unseen enemy that encourages me. No matter what, your words challenge me and cause me to examine my own walk with Christ, with my family, with friends. Thank you for being so open and real here on your blog. Please know that you are in my prayers – as are your wife and children. Hang in there!Kim

    Like

  4. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Wow! You’re looking at the possibility of no more chemo infusion. That would be wonderful. Everyone deals with fears (not the good kind but the bad kind) at some point in their lives. I’ve learned to see fear as a foreign invader, looking to divert my eyes from the truth of God’s Word. II Timothy 1:7 tells us God hasn’t given us the spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind. When fear threatens to sink my ship, I quote this verse. Fear is a temptation, and we know how Jesus handled temptation – with the Word. I’ve built up an arsenal of scriptures on fear. When it attacks, I use it with abandon. And you know something – the enemy retreats.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  5. Glad the end of chemo is in sight!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

