A Matter of Mindset


My reading this morning found me in a verse I really needed to hear . . . again.

Colossians 3:2 says, Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.

Sounds pretty simple, doesn’t it? Sounds it, but it isn’t.

There’s so much going on in this old world, so much happening right here in my home, right here in my body, it’s difficult to keep my focus on things above and not dwell on all the anxiety-inducing things going on around and within me.

But I have to keep in mind–and this verse serves as a timely reminder–that what happens here, the goings on of this earth and this life, the stress, the anxiety, the fear, even the joys and blessings, are temporary. They will come to an end. Things above, things eternal, things timeless will not.

I read once that the blessings and joys we experience here on earth serve to give us a glimpse–albeit a tiny smidgen of a glimpse–of the glory we will experience in heaven, and the turmoil here, the trials, the troubles, serve to point us more in the direction of eternity, to whet our thirst for heaven and glory.

Well, I’m thirsty alright.

Timely and important things to keep in mind . . . while I’m setting my mind on things above.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 26, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Sometimes I try to imagine what this earth and life was like before Adam committed high treason. I’m sure the air was pure, and all the negative emotions which assail us today didn’t exist – because they were in total relationship with the Lord and each other.Someday, all of the beauty will be restored. Meanwhile, we share the Good News with others, draw close to Him, and commit ourselves fully to His plans and purposes for our lives.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. I found the lyrics to ‘Defining Moment’ on-line; I believe it’s by Newsong:there comes a time in every heart a time of real decision when we reach the point of choosing how we will live our lives all our hopes, all our dreams will rise up from that moment the moment we surrender and choose to follow christ he’s been waiting all our lives to hear us say i am yours, lord, take my hand and lead the waychorus:when you believe he’s all you need that will be your defining moment as you live your life walking in hislight trusting him completely that will be, that will be your defining moment all i have, all i am is resting in his promise the promise that he’ll make me everything that i should be i will live, i will die, for the cause he’s set before me to take this love inside my heart for all the world to see all of heaven celebrates when they hear someone say i am yours, lord, take my hand and lead the wayrepeat chorusbridge:his amazing grace is such a mystery, how in an instant it can make your life complete chorus(x2)

    Like

  3. Real Live Preacher

    It’s especially hard when all the world is clamoring and begging us to be filled with anxiety.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

