Defining Moments


Defining moments. We all have them. They are those moments, those ticks of the clock, on which out life seems to pivot. A revelation is experienced, a challenge conquered, a milestone reached. And our life is changed.

There’s a contemporary Christian song out whose chorus goes something like: “When you realize He’s all you need, that will be your defining moment.” (If you know who sings that song, please leave a comment and let me know.)

I love that. Think about it, the moment we realize Jesus is all we need, that we are nothing in and of ourself, that we can do nothing worthwhile in our own strength, that we really are not in control, are not calling the shots . . . the moment we realize that we need nothing but Him, that He is our sustenance, our rock, our shelter, our strength, our peace, our comfort, our Savior. That will be a defining moment. Quite a defining moment. And our life will never be the same again.

This cancer has been a defining moment for me. It has forced me to rely on Jesus through the easy parts and the hard parts. Oh sure, I still have times of doubt and discouragement and questioning and major weakness, but they only serve to show me more how much I need Him and only Him. I can’t do this on my own. I can’t. That’s the truth. I’m too weak, too scared, too human.

I need Jesus.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 29, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Even Christians can have a subtle attitude of self-sufficiency. While there’s nothing wrong with having a plan, putting our reliance on it can result in major disappointment. Right now, I’m faced with some non-health challenges. I have ideas, but there are many variables. Peace arrived only when I cast the care of it on my Heavenly Father. When I get to a place where a decision must be made, I trust He will give me the wisdom and direction I need.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Very nice post. Defining moments. Those are the times when I still smell certain scents and the emotion of the time still grips me.God Bless.

    Like

  3. Hey Mike, I think the song is Defining Moment by Newsong.I, too, had one super big moment like that in the midst of health issues. I will never forget the day and the situation, but sadly I forget all too often that I’m not in charge. Wish I didn’t need a defining moment, but could know every day every hour, I am not in control and wait for God to care for me. Thanks for reminding me.

    Like

  4. Thanks, Susan, for reminding me what the song was. What a great song, indeed!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

